Posted in Christmas letter, Family, Rebecca, Year in Review

2016: looking back

I never thought that my best year ever would include pregnancy and a baby. Feeling huge, waddling around, enduring a 100% natural birth at home (in a pool, no less), changing diapers, and blurry-eyed middle-of-the-night feeding sessions would not have sounded awesome a couple of years ago. I was perfectly happy being married and kid-less.

But now I can’t imagine what my life would be without her.

img_3808
#beccabean

This is sappy mama stuff. Something that used to make me emotionally gag now gives me emotional and spiritual peace and fulfillment. Not that a baby fixes everything (believe me, they break a lot more things than they fix), but Rebecca fills a part of me I didn’t realize was wanting.

Other things have happened this year, but Rebecca Meagan was definitely the highlight. It’s hard to remember anything else, but for the sake of posterity, I’ll create a list of other occurrences:

  • We refinished a dresser. Our first real DIY project!
  • I celebrated my 5th year at Farmgirlfit, and started doing childcare on Wednesdays there.
  • Jordan & Kyah got married!
  • Esther and I started running YUM Meals, a monthly food service for busy families.
  • We saw the Piano Guys in concert (SO GOOD).
  • We took Becca glamping (we used an RV, so it wasn’t real camping) when she was 1 month old.
  • Jerod began serving in the high school youth ministry at Valley Bible Church.
  • Jerod and I both turned 28.
  • I ran my first 5K on Aug. 6, exactly 2 months after Becca was born.
  • My long-distance bestie, Cortney, came to visit and see the PNW for the first time.
  • I tried to make my own kombucha and it turned into a mold and fruit fly attractant. I didn’t drink it.
  • We did hydro-boarding for the first time on Cd’A Lake.
  • Sarah, Becca, and I ran away to Cannon Beach for a few days, and managed to catch the only sunny days that month.
  • My parents got a new chiweenie puppy, Henry!
  • Jerod and I read through the entire Bible.
  • Celebrated Becca’s first Halloween, Thanksgiving, and Christmas. Holidays are so much cooler when you share them with a kiddo.

Goodbye, 2016. I know a lot of people are talking crap about you, but you’re one of my favorite years. Stay classy.

Author:

Christ follower. Wife. Mama.

Leave a Reply

