Posted in Food & Drink, Sugar Freedom

The Sugar Freedom Finale!

Sugar Freedom Week 8 Day 7

It’s finally here! The last day of the Sugar Freedom challenge!

It feels like New Year’s Eve in my apartment right now. I have popcorn popped and seasoned with lemon zest, ground ginger, ground green tea leaves, and salt (another AWESOME recipe from my birthday Popcorn book!), tonic water chilling in the fridge, and the Vimeo greatest hits playlist bumping on the Apple TV. Even though it’s just a normal March 28 evening for most people, midnight marks a huge milestone for me: 2 months of progressively living the sugarless life!

Time to celebrate!
Time to celebrate!

I’m so glad I did this challenge. I’ve noted many times on the blog how challenged I’ve felt throughout, and the substitutions and sacrifices I’ve made to meet the challenge rules. I’ve stumbled a couple times in my commitment (having a glass of wine on the first day of cutting out alcohol probably wasn’t the best move), but overall, I can say I’ve stayed faithful! And that’s a great feeling. πŸ™‚

I couldn’t have done this by myself, though. Gotta thank quite a few people. πŸ™‚

Thank you to Farmgirlfit for presenting the Sugar Freedom challenge again this year, and evolving it into something even cooler than last year’s challenge!

Thank you, Jerod, for putting up with my sugarless experiments and listening to my rants about how maltodextrin isn’t healthy and how DARE it be in products marketed as “healthy”!

Thank you to my Sugar Sweetie, Heather! I’ve loved texting with you and commiserating on our sugarless successes and struggles! I’m looking forward to getting to know you better, even though the challenge is over. πŸ™‚

Thank you to my friends and family, who have accommodated my eating restrictions and haven’t made (too much) fun of me in the past couple months. Thank you for keeping me grounded and for not letting me give in to the sugar depravation crazies. πŸ™‚

And most of all, THANK YOU to everyone who has followed my Sugar Freedom journey this year! Your faithful reading and support, here and on Twitter, have helped keep me accountable to write my blog (almost) every day and stick to the Sugar Freedom guidelines. I couldn’t do this alone! You guys are the best! πŸ™‚

Now check it out … my LAST progress report. And at the stroke of midnight, I’m going to enjoy some dark chocolate-covered super fruits. πŸ˜€

Progress Report Day 55

Pre-workout snack: Honey cookie.

Workout: 25-minute yoga shred with Sadie Nardini.

Breakfast: Espresso pizzert (with chocolate protein powder and coffee granules). Baked sweet potato slices with 2 eggs.

Lunch: Chopped salad with lettuce, tomatoes, shredded chicken, garlic hummus, oil and vinegar.

Snack: Sunflower seeds.

Dinner: Potato and turkey soup. Fudge chocolate protein bar with almond butter.

Snack: Air-popped popcorn. Frozen blueberries.

Author:

Christ follower. Wife. Mama.

Leave a Reply

