Posted in Food & Drink, Personal Musings, Sugar Freedom, {Project Recipe}

Moderation and Sugarless Fudgy Goodness

Sugar Freedom Week 8 Day 1

**This week’s challenge**
Limit fruit consumption, especially dried fruits.

It’s the home stretch, people! This is the last week of the Sugar Freedom challenge! And, honestly, it’s going to be a doozy of a week. Giving up dried fruit is going to be tough … like I mentioned in this Week 2 post, it’s my vice. My sugarless sugar addiction.

Even though the challenge this week uses the word “limit,” I think I need to go cold turkey on the dried fruit. I went three weeks without it last year; I can go 7 days without it, right? (My hands are shaking from dried fruit withdrawals as I write this. Awesome.)

Fruit in general has been my crutch during this challenge, really. I can hear you asking, “What’s wrong with fruit? Isn’t it good for you?” Well, yes. Fruit is very good for you, and has its own place in the food pyramid to prove it. However, there is the concept of too much of a good thing. Fruit has a lot of natural sugar, and in moderation, it’s beneficial for your body. But overload on it, and it can be destructive.

Philosophical thought: Everything in life should be enjoyed in moderation. TV is a great entertainment option, but binge-watching with a bag of chips (or popcorn!) for hours on end probably isn’t the best idea. Sugar can be a fun treat every once in a while, but making doughnuts a daily habit could have consequences. Get what I mean? Just be aware of how you treat your body and your mind. Enjoy life, but don’t overdo it. With great power comes great responsibility and all that.

That’s kind of the whole point of this Sugar Freedom challenge. It might seem crazy (this word has been verbalized to me countless times during my participation in this challenge), but it’s not crazy for craziness’ sake. It’s taking a step back and evaluating what goes into my diet and how I can make healthier choices. It’s challenging, because it’s not our culture’s inclination to be discerning. But it’s also been fun, because I’ve gotten to try cool recipes and share them here! And you all get to benefit. So you’re welcome. 🙂

Fudge chocolate protein bars. Source: Chocolate-Covered Katie
Fudge chocolate protein bars. Source: Chocolate-Covered Katie

Alright, less blah blah blah and more recipe sharing. Chocolate-Covered Katie (I mean, seriously, who else do I get recipes from these days) posted a recipe for fudge chocolate protein bars that is to. die. for. And it’s easily modifiable to be sugarless. Just use honey for sweetener and leave out the 2 tablespoons of sugar and chocolate chips (trust me, you won’t need them). The finished product is so fudgy and delicious (and did I mention GOOD FOR YOU), you might not be able to wait for them to cool. Heck, I didn’t. Totally worth it. 🙂 Click here for the recipe on Katie’s site!

Progress Report Day 49

Breakfast: Tablespoon of almond butter. Blueberry chia seed pudding.

Lunch: Sweet mini peppers, carrots, baby tomatoes with red pepper hummus. 2 cuties.

Snack: Starbucks venti soy latte (happy birfday drink to me!). 2 fudge chocolate protein bar squares.

Dinner: Rice/quinoa mix with lemon pepper chicken, stir-fry veggies, and feta.

Snack: Sunflower seeds. Rice crackers. Air-popped popcorn.

Drinks: Coffee, water.

Author:

Christ follower. Wife. Mama.

Leave a Reply

