Posted in Food & Drink, Sugar Freedom, {Project Recipe}

Chia Seeds and Brussels Sprouts

Sugar Freedom Week 7 Day 7

Check out this blog post’s title.

Yup. It’s official. I’m a crazy health nut weirdo.

When I was little, I swore I wouldn’t be this person (actually, I wasn’t allowed to swear when I was little, so I just promised really, really hard). The person who eats health foods on PURPOSE and works out because she LIKES IT and eats dinner BEFORE her dessert. Because, after all, being an adult means you get to do whatever you want, right?

To my child(ish) mind, Cap’n Crunch, chocolate milk, and Lunchables every day was my idea of being an adult. I could buy whatever I wanted, eat whatever I wanted, and it would be the LIFE.

But, now that I’m an adult, I’m buying things like Brussels sprouts on PURPOSE. I’m making chia seed pudding (sugarless!) instead of buying the pudding cups I craved as a kid. And I’m on the tail end of a 2-month sugar-shunning challenge??

Young Amanda would be shocked right out of her frizzy ponytail and overalls.

However, as much as I’ve probably disappointed my Past Self, I’m OK with it. Because going without sugar has been awesome. Not always easy, but still beneficial. It’s challenging me to look up new recipes, modify old ones, and develop a palate for foods like chia seeds and Brussels sprouts. Dishes that Jerod almost always calls “interesting” (his word for “I’m glad you only made enough for yourself, I’ll have normal people food, thank you”) are dishes that I find exciting, new, and worth trying. Some don’t work out, but others turn out so well that they get bragged about on the blog. Like these two!

Source: Sensual Appeal
Source: Sensual Appeal

Chocolate PB banana chia seed pudding (adapted from Sensual Appeal)

Ingredients

1 tablespoon chia seeds

1/2 banana

1/2 cup almond milk

1/2 scoop chocolate protein powder (OR 1 tablespoon cocoa powder)

1 tablespoon nut butter

dash of cinnamon and vanilla extract

Directions

Blend all ingredients in blender (I used my Magic Bullet) until smooth. Refrigerate for 2 hours. Consume.

Brussels sprouts coleslaw
Brussels sprouts coleslaw

 

Brussels sprouts coleslaw

 

Ingredients

 

5-8 Brussels sprouts

 

10 baby carrots

 

Dried blueberries or raisins

 

1 tablespoon coconut oil

 

Balsamic vinegar, salt, and pepper to taste

 

Directions

 

Chop Brussels sprouts and carrots in food processor until finely chopped. Fold in blueberries and melted coconut oil. Drizzle with balsamic vinegar and season with salt and pepper. Serve chilled.

 

So, call me a health freak. I don’t care. I’m too busy enjoying my chia seed pudding. 🙂

 

Progress Report Day 48

 

Workout: 30 minutes of CxWorx at Gold’s Gym.

 

Breakfast: Cheesy salmon spinach skillet (cooked spinach, feta, mini peppers, almond milk, shredded salmon, pumpkin seeds) with 2 eggs. 1/2 grapefruit.

 

Lunch: Chocolate PB banana chia pudding.

 

Snack: Dried fruit and mixed nuts.

 

Dinner: Brussels sprouts coleslaw.

 

Snack: Sunflower seeds. Air-popped popcorn.

Drinks: Coffee, water.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author:

Christ follower. Wife. Mama.

Leave a Reply

