Posted in Food & Drink, Friends, Sugar Freedom, {Project Recipe}

Happy belated birfday cake to me

Sugar Freedom Week 7 Day 5

** This week’s challenge **
Eliminate alcoholic beverages, even on St. Patty’s Day.

I’m back!

As I promised earlier today on Twitter, I’m getting back on track with updating my Sugar Freedom challenge progress after a lengthy hiatus. I’m happy to report that, while I haven’t been posting my food journal here on the blog, I have been keeping track of it on the MyFitnessPal app. So if you want to really be a creeper and check up on me, click here to see the past few days’ worth of food journal entries. 🙂

Let me explain. No, it is too long. Let me sum up.

This weekend, I ran away to a bed & breakfast in Coeur d’Alene with my two best friends to celebrate my birthday. It was amazing. We noshed on fresh fruit and veggies, slept in (sort of … we’re all early risers, so “sleeping in” was like 7 a.m.), and were treated to a great St. Patrick’s Day-themed breakfast buffet of corned beef hash, sausage, and eggs.

Needless to say, blogging was not high on my radar this weekend, in between re-learning how to knit and wandering through downtown CdA (yeah, we know how to party). Full disclosure, I only had ONE slip-up during the entire weekend: a glass of wine at the B&B. And on the first day of the Week 7 challenge, too: no alcohol!

BUT, before you judge me, the wine was compliments of the B&B, plus I dropped two pieces of pineapple in my glass to make it more healthy. How can you pass on free wine? (Answer: You can’t.) But other than that, I stuck to the Sugar Freedom rules! Not bad, eh?

ANYway, why didn’t I blog last night, on my actual birthday? It was my first night back at work after my fun weekend, and it was a little ridiculous. Scratch that: It was a total nightmare. Through a series of unfortunate events from hell, this happened. (Yes, Internet, I was the copy editor responsible for this page. I laugh at myself along with you.) By the time I got home, I was so exhausted from turning 26 and dealing with newspaper drama that I ate an entire bowl of popcorn and passed out.

So, here I am, a day late and a birfday cake short. (Side note: I spell birfday with an ‘f’ on purpose. Because I like it.) I didn’t have any cake yesterday, because cake = sugar and sugar = off-limits right now. But I felt the need to amend that with a sugarless cake!

A single-serving lava cake, to be specific. Chocolate-Covered Katie was the inspiration for this creation (I’m not obsessed with her blog at ALL), and I was able to sit with Tibbers during my dinner break and enjoy every. single. bite. My substitutions: honey for the sugar, applesauce for the oil, and blueberries for the raspberries. Click here for the recipe!

Happy sugarless birfday to me.
Happy sugarless birfday to me.

Progress Report Day 46

Breakfast: Healthy Shamrock Shake.

Snack: Apple.

Lunch: Salad, steamed carrots, grapefruit, 1/2 banana oatmeal muffin. Dried tilapia strips.

Snack: Sea Salt Snapea Crisps, dried fruit and mixed nuts.

 

Dinner: Sweet potato hash (with cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice, salt and pepper) with 2 eggs. Chocolate lava birthday cake.

 

Snack: Air-popped popcorn.

Drinks: Water, tea, coffee.

 

 

Author:

Christ follower. Wife. Mama.

Leave a Reply

