Posted in Food & Drink, Sugar Freedom, Uncategorized, {Project Recipe}

Shamrock shakes for realz

Sugar Smackdown Week 6 Day 6

As part of my unofficial countdown to St. Patrick’s Day, I’ve been searching for Irish-approved sugarless recipes to accompany my holiday spirit. Oh, speaking of holiday spirit, I got a bright green running jacket at Costco today! It’s super cute and, yes, I DO feel very classy outfitting my closet with warehouse clothing, thank you very much.

"Thank you. They're Costco!"
“Thank you. They’re Costco!”

Chocolate-Covered Katie (my healthy munchies guru) is the source behind today’s green treat. She sent out an email blast a couple days ago featuring Healthy Shamrock Shakes, and I almost immediately started drooling.

Source: Chocolate-Covered Katie
Source: Chocolate-Covered Katie

I haven’t had a milkshake in forEVer. I’m slightly lactose intolerant, so I usually shy away from lactose-laden treats as a dessert option. However, this recipe calls for milk of choice, so I would choose almond milk. Or coconut milk, depending on what’s in the fridge.

Also, I’ve never had a Shamrock Shake at McDonald’s. The commercials always make it look SO yummy, but I can’t help but wonder just how many chemicals are inside on of those puppies. Not to mention sugar and food dye and thickeners and other additives. Yuck.

According to Katie, “A small McDonalds Shamrock Shake will set you back 530 calories and 73 grams of sugar! And it’s filled with chemical ingredients, additives, and potentially-dangerous food dyes. Do your health a favor and make your own healthy Shamrock Shakes at home. It takes under five minutes to make, uses natural ingredients to get that bright-green hue, and has NO refined sugar whatsoever. This healthy Shamrock Shake recipe is also well under 500 calories!”

 

Sold. Healthy Shamrock Shake, here I come! Click here for the recipe on Chocolate-Covered Katie’s blog.

 

Progress Report Day 40

 

Workout: 2 rounds of the 7-Minute Workout (with my sister!).

 

Breakfast: Chocolate mocha pizzert drizzled with almond butter and honey.

 

Lunch: Greek Island Cuisine gyro Greek salad (lamb, tomatoes, onion, olives, peppercinis, feta, romaine lettuce), Greek vinaigrette, tzatziki sauce.

 

Snack: Apple. Dried fruit and mixed nuts. Sunflower seeds.

 

Dinner: Irish ground turkey stew. 1/2 whole wheat muffin. Honey cookie.

Snack: Air-popped popcorn.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author:

Christ follower. Wife. Mama.

Leave a Reply

