Posted in Food & Drink, Sugar Freedom, Uncategorized

Dehydrate ALL THE THINGS

Sugar Freedom Week 5 Day 6 & 7

My parents got me a food dehydrator for my birthday this year, which, as a kitchen nerd, I am EXTREMELY excited about! Thank you, Mom and Dad! I’m elated! 😀

Dehydrating fruit will help me combat my sugar cravings more effectively, especially since I’ve been eating craving dried fruit like crazy during this challenge. Dehydrated fruit is preserved without all the extra sugar/preservatives that goes into traditional dried products. All you need is a lot of hot air and a lot of time on your hands.

That’s the hard part: Waiting for the fruit to fully dry. I always cheat and peel off a few pieces halfway through the drying process. Partially dehydrated fruit (especially banana slices, IMO) brings out the best in fruit. It’s chewy and warm and the fruit sugar is VERY present. Which I’m totally OK with. 🙂

The thing with me and new appliances is that I can’t use them in moderation the first time around. I have to dehydrate ALL THE THINGS. So I made a special trip to Walmart for apples and bananas, filled every rack of the dehydrator with thin slices of each, and even popped a couple cans of pineapple slices and put those on the bottom rack. The thing was filled to the brim, and my house was smelling mm-mm-GOOD when I went home for my dinner break. Natural fruity goodness. 🙂

Dehydrated bananas. Or as one website called it, banana taffy!
Dehydrated bananas. Or as one website called it, banana taffy! No sugar, all goodness.

I have a feeling I’m going to be a dehydrating fiend long after the Sugar Freedom challenge is over. It’s just too much fun! Jerod is excited to make homemade beef jerky. And for my next project, I’m planning to dry some marinated tilapia filets. More updates to come, I’m sure. 🙂

Progress Report Day 35

Pre-workout snack: Vanilla yogurt with blueberries.

Workout: 55 minutes of BodyFlow at Gold’s Gym.

Breakfast: Mocha chocolate coconut oatmeal pizzert (with chocolate protein powder), topped with almond butter.

Lunch: Whole wheat English muffin with garlic hummus. Snapea Crisps.

Snack: Lightly salted veggie crisps.

Dinner: Channa Masala with stir-fry veggies. Orange. 1 piece of healthy fudge.

 

Snack: Sea Salt Pop Corners. Air-popped popcorn seasoned with chili powder, garlic powder, cayenne powder, and salt.

 

Progress Report Day 36

 

Pre-workout snack: Honey cookie.

 

Workout: 30 minutes of CxWorx at Gold’s Gym.

 

Breakfast: Vanilla coconut pizzert drizzled with honey and almond butter.

 

Lunch: Sweet mini peppers with hummus. Apple.

 

Snack: Snapea Crisps. Rice crackers. Lightly salted veggies crisps.

 

Dinner: Channa masala with stir-fry veggies. 3 pieces of healthy fudge.

Snack: Air-popped popcorn.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author:

Christ follower. Wife. Mama.

Leave a Reply

