Posted in Exercise, Sugar Freedom

Channeling My Inner Buffy

Sugar Freedom Week 5 Day 3

I’ve been watching a lot of Buffy the Vampire Slayer lately. The mix of action and character-building the show does is amazing, and I love the lore and subtle (sometimes not-so-subtle) wordsmithery that comes out of the scripts. I researched Joss Whedon, the creator of Buffy, for my thesis during my senior year of college (if you feel like reading 25 pages, click here), and fell in love with his projects (Dr. Horrible’s Singalong Blog, The Avengers, Angel, and Firefly, to name a few). Plus, watching bunches of TV as research for an academic thesis felt pretty sweet to me. 🙂

Buffy Summers, the title character of aforementioned show about vampire slaying, is blonde, a cheerleader, and not in any way afraid of the dark. She looks like the victim in a dark alley … until she busts out her punches and roundhouse kicks. The girl is tough. And it’s really cool to watch a strong female figure pummel bad guys to protect her friends and family and save the world.

Buffy and Mr. Pointy.
Buffy and Mr. Pointy.

All this to say, I channeled a little bit of Buffy at BodyCombat today. During 55 minutes of boxer shuffles and kick-and-punch combos, I was throwing punches and roundhouse kicks like Joss Whedon was recasting the character of Buffy and I was auditioning.

And man, was I tired afterward. Pretending to be a superhero is not easy. 😉

However, it was an awesome workout. And the muscle memory from my karate days of old didn’t fail me. It was like riding a bike. Except more self-defense. 🙂 If you ever get the chance to try a karate, kickboxing, or other self-defense class, I highly recommend it! Not only is it fun and challenging, but you’ll learn some street skillz, too. 🙂

Progress Report Day 31

Pre-workout snack: Honey cookie.

Workout: 55 minutes of BodyCombat, 30 minutes of CxWorx at Gold’s Gym.

Breakfast: Mocha pizzert (coffee and chocolate protein powder) with blueberries and almond butter.

Lunch: Sweet mini peppers, baby carrots, pickle, garlic hummus.

Dinner: Costa Vida grilled chicken salad with guacamole, pico de gallo, honey habenero salsa, corn tortilla chips, lime juice.

Snack: Air-popped popcorn.

Drinks: Coffee, water.

Author:

Christ follower. Wife. Mama.

Leave a Reply

