Posted in Food & Drink, Sugar Freedom, {Project Recipe}

Build Your Own Pizzert

Sugar Freedom Week 4, Day 6

If you’ve never heard of Chocolate-Covered Katie, then you probably haven’t  been on Pinterest. Or the Internet. Or ever had a chocolate craving.

This girl is one of my favorite food bloggers, not only because she seems really cool and has a totally legit obsession with chocolate (soul mate!), but also because she knows how to turn chocolate into something healthy. In her words:

This healthy dessert blog is for anyone who wants to be healthy but refuses to give up eating delicious desserts in the name of health. Happiness and health go hand-in-hand, and how can you be happy if you’re not eating what you truly desire? My favorite food is chocolate, and I eat it at least once a day. I’ve never been happier. Or healthier. (Read more here.)

Who can argue with that logic? Not I.

Anyway, after a particularly hard yoga session this morning, I was craving something substantial. While checking my email, I came across one from Chocolate-Covered Katie that had a link for pizzert!

Pizza. Dessert. Pizzert.

AND I HAD IT FOR BREAKFAST.

*gasp*

Nothing is better than having dessert for breakfast and knowing it’s sugarless and 100 percent healthy. 🙂 Click here for the recipe!

The cool thing about Katie’s pizzert recipe is that it’s completely customizable. When I made mine, I mixed in a bunch of cinnamon (like 4 tablespoons) and some frozen blueberries, then spread some plain Greek yogurt on top and drizzled with Clean Eating Caramel. (And since I was going for a sugarless version, I used 2 tablespoons of honey instead of the 2 tablespoons of sugar the recipe called for.)

My pizzert looked something like this. (Source: Chocolate-Covered Katie)
My pizzert looked something like this, before I spread yogurt and caramel on top. (Source: Chocolate-Covered Katie)

You can add virtually anything your little heart desires to this basic recipe. Use your imagination! 🙂 Next time, I think I’m going to do a peanut butter-banana version.

Head over to Chocolate-Covered Katie and give her blog some lovin’! And make a few of her recipes while you’re at it. I promise, you won’t be disappointed. 🙂

Progress Report Day 27

Pre-workout snack: Honey cookie.

Workout: 60 minutes of BodyFlow at Gold’s Gym.

Brunch: Blueberry-cinnamon pizzert with plain Greek yogurt and Clean Eating Caramel. 2 cuties.

Snack: Dried fruit and mixed nuts. Sunflower seeds. Sea Salt Pop Corners.

Dinner: Steamed veggies (carrots, cauliflower, broccoli, pumpkin) with hot peppers and shredded homemade buffalo chicken.

Snack: Frozen blueberries. Air-popped popcorn. Super Banana Ice Cream.

Drinks: Coffee, water.

Author:

Christ follower. Wife. Mama.

Leave a Reply

