Posted in Crossfit, Exercise, Sugar Freedom

Choose Your Lifestyle

Sugar Freedom Week 4, Day 2

Due to a wacked out work schedule this past week, I’m going to the noon class at Farmgirlfit tomorrow. I usually do the 6:30 a.m. class, because I love feeling like I accomplished something while most people are still sleeping. But, sometimes life gets in the way, so I had to adjust. But anyways, I’m stoked about tomorrow’s workout! Check it out here.

I used to feel very differently about working out. It used to be an optional thing. Something I did once or twice a month, and then lied about during routine check-ups (“Yes, doctor, I DO work out at least once a week!”). It was something I dreaded doing. It hurt, and I never saw results, so why try? It became an activity I made a point to avoid, not something I looked forward to.

When I started going to Farmgirlfit, I had an end goal in mind: Look dang fine in my wedding dress. I had 8 months to accomplish my goal, and then I’d be done with the whole working out thing. Once I reached my goal, there was no point in going past it, right?

Wrong. So, so wrong.

Who knew I would end up not just liking, but loving, crossfit? Two-and-a-half years later, I don’t dread going to the gym. Yes, it hurts, but I’ve seen results. I’ve been encouraged and pushed in positive ways by the trainers, and the gals I work out next to are amazing. So … I think it’s safe to say I’ll never quit. 🙂

Preach.
Preach.

Working out doesn’t have an end goal. It has checkpoints. Milestones. Super fun dance parties along the way. Blood, sweat, and tears. Yes, it’s awesome when I set a personal record. But I don’t stop there. I create a milestone, then strive for the next one. Excel still more.

Crossfit is a lifestyle. It’s a hobby I enjoy and look forward to every week. Sure, the Grinds are intimidating sometimes. But nothing can describe the feeling of accomplishment after finishing a Grind. It’s very empowering. And I love it.

Progress Report Day 23

Brunch: Veggie omelette (eggs, mushrooms, peppers, Swiss cheese), hash browns, wheat toast.

Snack: Dried fruit and mixed nuts. Sunflower seeds.

Dinner: Turkey pumpkin chili. Whole wheat English muffin. 2 cuties.

Snack: Frozen blueberries. Air-popped popcorn.

Author:

Christ follower. Wife. Mama.

One thought on “Choose Your Lifestyle

Leave a Reply

