Posted in Food & Drink, Sugar Freedom, {Project Recipe}

All Pumpkin, All Day

Sugar Freedom Week 4 Day 1

** This week’s challenge **
Stick to whole grains, or eliminate grains altogether.

I know it’s not the fall season, when girls break out their sweaters and boots and head to Starbucks for the re-release of the pumpkin spice latte. October tends to be the month when pumpkin gets its time to shine, its 15 minutes of fame, before winter sets in and peppermint becomes the flavor of choice.

But today, in the middle of February, I was just feeling the pumpkin vibe. A 15-ounce can of pure pumpkin puree in my cupboard was calling my name, so I incorporated it into my breakfast. And lunch. And dinner.

Aw yeah. It’s Pumpkin Day. 🙂

In the morning, I made this homemade pumpkin spice latte inspired by Pastry Affair. Instead of using brown sugar, I used about a teaspoon of honey. The result made my senses sing. When is the last time you can say that happened? Try this latte. You’ll agree with me. 🙂

homemade pumpkin spice latte
foamy deliciousness

Along with my coffee, I made chocolate protein pumpkin pancakes inspired by Dashing Dish. Her recipe makes regular pumpkin-flavored pancakes, but I tossed a little bit of cocoa powder in the mix to satisfy my chocolate cravings. (Even at 10 a.m. Yikes.) A few pumpkin seeds sprinkled on top, plus some drizzled honey, made it the perfect breakfast.

Breakfast of champions
Breakfast of champions

The pancake recipe made 8 cakes, so I ate 4 for breakfast, 2 for snack (with a little cream cheese on top), and 2 for lunch (topped with some chopped pears).  One recipe, 3 different ways. I was very satisfied with each result. 🙂

Jerod requested pumpkin turkey soup for dinner, so I threw the ingredients from this AllRecipes dish into the crockpot to meld together while I was at work. It was SO spicy and delicious, and a whole wheat English muffin, crisped up in the toaster, was perfect for dipping.

So, if you had asked me how my day was, I would have responded, “Very pumpkin-y.” But I wouldn’t have it any other way. 🙂 Check out how pumpkin is super good for you below!

Health benefits of pumpkin
Source: Pinterest

Progress Report Day 22

Breakfast: Pumpkin spice latte (coffee, almond milk, pumpkin puree, and spices), 4 chocolate protein powder pumpkin pancakes with honey and pumpkin seeds.

Snack: 2 chocolate protein powder pumpkin pancakes with cream cheese.

Lunch: 2 chocolate protein powder pumpkin pancakes topped with chopped pears.

Snack: Sunflower seeds, dried fruit, mixed nuts.

Dinner: Pumpkin turkey soup, whole grain English muffin.

Snack: Frozen blueberries, air-popped popcorn, 1 piece healthy fudge.

Drinks: Coffee, water.

Author:

Christ follower. Wife. Mama.

Leave a Reply

