Posted in Crossfit, Engagement, Exercise, Food & Drink, Personal Musings, Sugar Freedom

Importance of Community

Sugar Freedom Week 3 Day 7

In my observation and 2 1/2 years of experience, the crossfit community is very encouraging and friendly. I’ve had the opportunity to meet new people via Twitter and Instagram when I’ve posted anything crossfit- or exercise- or nutrition-related, and I’ve received nothing but positive encouragement. This is the No. 1 reason why I’ve stuck with Farmgirlfit, even though I now live 2 1/2 hours away: The community and positivity is genuinely real.

@Crossfitlove retweeted a photo of a little girl weight-lifting a barbell today, and immediately I was proud. I have no idea who she is, but she is a beast! She’s smiling and pushing herself, and even though I don’t know her, I had a sense of community through our shared love of lifting.

Girl power!
Isn’t she adorable?

My sense of community has evolved more during this Sugar Freedom challenge. Being able to work out with my Sugar Buddy, share food journals, and commiserate (and celebrate!) via texts has been a great experience. I’ve enjoyed getting to know someone new, who shares my love for crossfit, eating well, and facing life head-on. Partnering up for the no sugar challenge this time around was a fantastic idea!

Community is important. It keeps you accountable. Encourages you to achieve more than you expected. Surrounds you and lifts you up when you fall down.

Of course, this is what ideal community should look like. Alas, we are human, so these things might not happen as often or as consistently as we would like. But it’s the goal, right? Do unto others?

That’s why I responded to @Crossfitlove’s retweet: “Rock on, kiddo! #strength #crossfit #girlpower” Because realizing the power of a positive community at a young age is a gift, and I’d love to be a part of that for this girl, even if it’s just through a simple tweet.

Question: What does your sense of community look like?

Progress Report Day 21

Pre-workout snack: Healthy honey cookie.

Workout: 30 min. CxWorx at Gold’s Gym.

Breakfast: Cooked quinoa with chocolate protein powder.

Lunch: Frittata with 2 eggs, mushrooms, onions, tomatoes, homemade shredded buffalo chicken.

Snack: Dried fruit and mixed nuts. Sunflower seeds.

Dinner: Evol veggie fajita burrito with tomatillo avocado sauce. Spoonful of almond butter.

Snack: Frozen blueberries. Air-popped popcorn.

 

Author:

Christ follower. Wife. Mama.

Leave a Reply

