Posted in Food & Drink, Jerod, Sugar Freedom, Uncategorized

Sugar-Free Valentime’s Day

Sugar Freedom Week 2, Day 7

Do you remember the web cartoon/sensation Homestar Runner? And the animated web comic Teen Girl Squad? It was a few years ago, but I remember a time when I would have the video shorts on repeat while working on college homework. TGS was the best, because it made fun of all the girl stereotypes I loved to make fun of, plus it was so random it almost made sense most of the time.

My absolute favorite TGS episode was Valentime’s Day. I’ve never been a huge fan of Valentine’s Day as a holiday (the sugar and gift exchange factors were always fun, though), so the satire employed in this episode makes me giggle. It’s because of TGS that Jerod and I call today Valentime’s Day.

ANYway, in honor of the holiday not recognized by the U.S. government, I made some chocolate raspberry-infused poke cupcakes for my co-workers. Topped them with some homemade icing and red sprinkles, and voila! Sugary sweetness in all its glory. You’re welcome, co-workers.

Chocolate raspberry-infused poke cupcakes with white chocolate whipped icing
Chocolate raspberry-infused poke cupcakes with white chocolate whipped icing

Jerod and I grilled up the cocoa-coffee steak that’s been marinating since last night on the nifty stovetop grill my parents got us for Christmas. It’s all the convenience of a grill, just on the stove!

Grilled steak and tomatoes
Grilled steak and tomatoes

The steak turned out AMAZING. And it was completely sugarless! Plus, the steaks were only like $3.50 at Winco, so I feel good physically and financially. 🙂 I grilled up some grape tomatoes, cucumber, and carrots as side dishes, too.

photo_2
Happy Valentime’s Day to us!

Question: How did you celebrate Valentime’s Day? Do you have any fun traditions?

Progress Report Day 14

Workout: 30 min. CxWorx at Gold’s Gym.

Breakfast: Cooked quinoa with chocolate protein powder, blueberries.

Lunch: Cornbread muffin, pretzels.

Snack: German chocolate cake (Tsk, tsk, me. However, this was the last day of the challenge that I can have dessert, so I figured I’d enjoy a slice. Plus, the cake was a goodbye cake for one of my co-workers who’s last day was today. So I was supporting him by having some. 🙂 )

Dinner: Cocoa-coffee steak, grape tomatoes, cucumber, baby carrots.

Snack: Apple, sunflower seeds.

Late-night snack: Air-popped popcorn.

Author:

Christ follower. Wife. Mama.

Leave a Reply

