Posted in Food & Drink, Sugar Freedom

Trial and Error

Sugar Freedom Week 2 Day 2

I got up with time to spare before church this morning, so I decided to mess around with a new breakfast idea: squash hash with scrambled eggs. I got inspiration from this pin, and I had some mini squashs from Costco, so I decided to be adventurous and try it.

However, I also had 1/3 of a cucumber left over from last night’s salad. The recipe didn’t call for it, but I figured, why not? Vegetables are vegetables. Just throw it in the mix!

I was wrong. So, so wrong.

It was like eating a delicious breakfast casserole and biting into little pieces of pickle randomly. It was awful. Totally ruined what could have been a great breakfast, and I was haunted by it for the rest of the day.

My point isn’t to gross you out (although you feel my pain, right?). My point is that experiments don’t always turn out well. AND THAT’S OK. (I put that in all caps for the perfectionists like me out there.) Making major diet changes like going sugar-free — or doing anything new, really — are going to have some measure of trial and error. But failing at making breakfast doesn’t mean I’m not going to try something new tomorrow. I just won’t use cucumber. πŸ™‚

So if you’re struggling to keep a resolution, or start a new habit, or learn something new, just know that failure is OK. Tomorrow is a new day, so pick up and try again. πŸ™‚

4aa9ed76c94a81582fa201ad43ed7b6d

 

Day 9 Progress Report

Breakfast: 2 eggs, squash, grape tomatoes, cucumber (barely), onion. 1/2 grapefruit.

Snack: Peanut butter-filled pretzel bites, popcorn.

Dinner: Super Banana Ice Cream (banana, almond milk, vanilla extract) with almond butter, cocoa powder, bran cereal on top.

Snack: dried fruit and nuts.

Drinks: Coffee, water.

Author:

Christ follower. Wife. Mama.

Leave a Reply

