Posted in Food & Drink, Sugar Freedom, {Project Recipe}

Overcoming office birthday cake

Sugar Freedom Week 1, Day 5

Even though I can technically still eat sugar this week, I’ve been trying to stay away from it so that I don’t go into shock from the sugar detox in the next 7 weeks. Tonight was a true test of my resolve: There was some leftover birthday cake in the kitchen at work. White, fluffy frosting on top of yummy cake layers. Sitting on the counter, staring at me. Taunting me.

I don’t think I can emphasize how much I love office birthday cake.

I LOVE it. I love IT. I LOVE IT.

For some reason, office birthday cake is better than regular cake at home. Probably because it didn’t require any effort on my part. 🙂 But my resolve was stronger than my craving, so I was able to make it home cake-free. Besides, it wouldn’t be a great story to tell later: “So, um, this office birthday cake was taunting me, daring me to eat it … so I did.” Dumb.

Instead, I opted for a delicious and super-filling chopped salad for dinner. I don’t usually chop my salads up, but I got some inspiration from this pin on Pinterest, so I decided to try it. Result: I think I’m going to have to chop my salads more often. The texture was amazing and the flavors melded together a lot better than in a regular tossed salad. I added a few spicy turkey meatballs to the mix to add some protein, drizzled on some thousand island yogurt dressing, and narfed that puppy down like nobody’s business.

It IS easy being green!
It IS easy being green!

There really isn’t a recipe for chopped salad because there are so many options! Start with lettuce, spinach, or other leafy green base, then add your favorite vegetables, nuts, seeds, meat, or fruit. Then take a hand chopper (I use the Pampered Chef salad chopper) and chop all the ingredients into bite-sized bits. Drizzle a little dressing on top and stir with a fork to combine. Devour immediately.

Day 5 Progress Report

Breakfast: Peanut Butter Panda Puffs, almond milk, gala apple.

Lunch: Quinoa Pizza Bites, salad, coleslaw, pineapple bits, carrot slices.

Snack: Sunflower seeds, apple cinnamon rice cake, veggie sticks.

Dinner: Chopped salad with spinach, broccoli, cucumber, grape tomatoes, feta, spicy turkey meatballs, thousand island yogurt dressing.

Snack: Sunflower seeds, dried fruit and nut mix, Super Banana Ice Cream with cocoa powder.

Drinks: Coffee, water.

Author:

Christ follower. Wife. Mama.

One thought on “Overcoming office birthday cake

Leave a Reply

