Posted in Crossfit, Food & Drink, Sugar Freedom

Seahawks and Super Banana Ice Cream

Sugar Freedom, Week 1, Days 2 & 3

I’m a couple days behind in Sugar Freedom blogging (already?! what’s wrong with me), so I’m combining the past couple days into one blog post. But can you blame me? The Seahawks won the Super Bowl! How could I think of anything else??

140202_sb_finale_2__lg
There’s so much sugar in Gatorade.

Jerod and I went to a Super Bowl party at our pastor’s house, and in honor of Sugar Freedom, I found a recipe for Quinoa Pizza Bites to share. Chocolate-Covered Katie has a whole blog post about it, so instead of posting it here, I’m sending you to her! Click here for the recipe. (And subscribe to her blog! It’s chocolate-y healthy goodness!)

Besides my quinoa pizza bites, my food choices at the party were … less than optimal, in regard to watching my sugar intake. Don’t get me wrong, everything was DELICIOUS … but sugar was partially what made that possible. But, as my No-Sugar Sweetie, Heather, says, “No judging. Just helping!”

However, I did start the morning off right with some banana ice cream for breakfast. Yes, you read that right. Ice cream for breakfast is teh roxorz (that’s nerd for “it will rock your world”). And there’s no sugar involved, besides the natural derivatives from the banana (duh). However, this is a treat that requires a little bit of patience, since the banana needs to be completely frozen. I’d suggest freezing it overnight for two reasons: (1) It’ll be ready for breakfast in the morning, and (2) You’ll be sleeping instead of drooling in front of the freezer for 8 hours (not like I’ve done this or anything …).

Super Banana Ice Cream

Ingredients

1 banana, cut into slices

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1/4 – 1/2 cup milk (Amanda’s note: I used almond milk)

cocoa powder (optional)

almond butter (optional)

Directions

Cut the banana into slices and freeze for at least 8 hours.

Put the frozen banana slices, vanilla extract, and 1/4 cup milk into a blender (I used my Magic Bullet) and pulse until creamy. If the mixture is too thick, add a little bit of milk, up to another 1/4 cup. Try not to use any more than 1/2 cup total, though, otherwise the mixture will get too runny. (It will still be delicious, but this recipe is for banana ice cream not banana soup!)

Add cocoa powder or almond butter (or both!) to the blender and pulse a few more times to blend. Serve immediately.

photo
I put Panda Puffs on top for some crunch!

Day 2 Progress Report

Breakfast: Super Banana Ice Cream, Panda Puffs.

Lunch: Chicken bacon artichoke pizza.

Snack/Dinner: Quinoa pizza bites with marinara sauce, stuffed mushrooms, 7-layer dip, multigrain chips, carrots, celery, peppers, Seahawks popcorn, elk meat slices, cheddar cheese slices, chocolate-covered pistachios, ham/turkey/cheddar cheese sandwich with spring mix and mustard.

Drinks: Water, coffee.

 

Day 3 Progress Report

Pre-workout snack: Banana.

Workout: 45 minutes of cardio/weight training at Phyzique Fitness.

Breakfast: Apple, vanilla yogurt with blueberries, raspberries, blackberries.

Lunch: Salad with iceberg lettuce, grape tomatoes, carrots, cucumbers, green beans, snap peas, and strawberry vinegarette.

Snack: Pop Chips, salsa.

Dinner: BBQ chicken with cheddar cheese on an English muffin, brussel sprouts.

Snack: Popcorn.

Drinks: Coffee, water.

Author:

Christ follower. Wife. Mama.

2 thoughts on “Seahawks and Super Banana Ice Cream

Leave a Reply

