Posted in Eat Local, Food & Drink, Jerod, {Project Recipe}

{Project Recipe} Broken Promises, Part 2

This is part 2 in a two-part series. To read the first part, click here.

As you can see, I’m tinkering around with a new look for the blog. I wanted something with more visual components, since this seems to be evolving into a shrine for {Project Recipe} and other healthy fun things. Have any suggestions for improvement or just words of encouragement for my impeccable taste of blog theme? Let me know in the comments! 🙂

Since I’m into keeping promises now, I’m fulfilling the one I made yesterday and introducing Healthy Eggs Benedict to y’all!

BPjxKcVCIAESrqe
Chives make them pretty.

I’m a sucker for Eggs Benedict. A little history: Before we moved to the Tri-Cities, Jerod and I started a tradition of after-church brunch at the Cottage Cafe in Spokane. It’s the kind of setting you’d expect in a sitcom: Small and friendly staff, coffee mugs that mysteriously stays full all the time, clean and simple booths tucked away in corners in which to hold deep discussions, and a fireplace in the lobby.

outside2
Cute, right?

Cottage Cafe is one of my favorite places, and since we went there so often, I quickly found my favorite dishes on the menu. Jerod would always tease me, because I’d waffle (ha, punny) back and forth between the vegetarian omelette and the Eggs Benedict. I loved them both so much I never ordered anything else. It felt too much like cheating.

Anyway, Cottage Cafe satisfied my Eggs Benedict obsession. But then we moved, and we haven’t been able to go back for breakfast yet. We’ve been looking for a new after-church local brunch place in the Tri-Cities (we tried Sage Port Grille in Richland last week, with great success), but in the meantime, the Eggs Benedict itch needed to be scratched. It was getting serious, people.

I always have eggs and English muffins in my fridge (thanks, Costco), but I wasn’t sure how to make Hollandaise sauce, the lynchpin of Eggs Benedict goodness. The thing about Hollandaise, though, is it’s basically egg yolk and melted butter (read: super delicious and super bad for you). Plus, it’s really complicated to make (Wikipedia has multiple methods listed; if a recipe has more than one method then it’s probably too complicated for a quick breakfast). Pinterest came to the rescue with an easier, healthier option.

Diabetic Connect has step-by-step instructions for making an alternative Hollandaise sauce and poaching eggs. The only person I’ve known to poach eggs correctly is our friend Tobin, so when I succeeded on my first try poaching two eggs, I felt very accomplished. It took me a while to actually eat my Eggs Benedict because I was so impressed with the finished product. 🙂 The sauce is fantastic, too. It can definitely hold its own against regular Hollandaise sauce if they ever met in a back alley and had to duke it out.

This recipe calls for reduced-sodium, thinly sliced cooked ham. I left the meat off because my fridge was devoid of deli meat, but it didn’t really make a difference. Vegetarian or with meat, either option works, so long as you and your tummy are happy.

Healthy Eggs Benedict

Ingredients

3 tablespoons light sour cream

2 teaspoons fat-free milk (Amanda’s note: I used almond milk)

1 teaspoon Dijon-style mustard

2 eggs

1 whole wheat English muffin, split

2 large tomato slices

2 ounces thinly sliced reduced-sodium cooked ham (optional)

Snipped fresh or dried chives (optional)

Directions

For sauce: In a small bowl, whisk sour cream, milk, and mustard until smooth. Set aside.

For eggs: Lightly grease a medium skillet. Half-fill the skillet with water. Bring water to boiling; reduce heat to simmering (bubbles should begin to break the surface of the water). Break one of the eggs into a small dish. Carefully slide egg into simmering water, holding the lip of the dish as close to the water as possible. Repeat with the remaining egg, allowing each egg an equal amount of space. Simmer, uncovered, for 3 to 5 minutes or until egg whites are completely set and yolks begin to thicken but are not hard. (Amanda’s note: This is where you can decide what kind of egg you want. Hard yolk: Let simmer until the yolk doesn’t jiggle. Soft yolk: Don’t let the eggs simmer much longer.)

For English muffin: Place muffin halves, cut sides up, on a foil-lined and lightly greased baking sheet. Broil 3 to 4 inches from heat for 1 to 2 minutes or until toasted. Top muffin halves with ham (optional) and tomato slices. Broil about 1 minute more or until toppings are heated through.

To serve: Use a slotted spoon to remove eggs from skillet and place on top of tomato slices. Spoon sauce over eggs and sprinkle with chives (optional but highly recommended).

Author:

Christ follower. Wife. Mama.

Leave a Reply

