Posted in Food & Drink, {Project Recipe}

{Project Recipe} Broken Promises, Part 1

I usually don’t have a problem keeping promises IRL. If I say I’m going to do something, then I’ll do it. I might be a few minutes late, but things will definitely still get done. But then, I decided to make a promise to this blog.

“I’ll post more. I’ll write interesting things on a regular basis. I’ll call you.”

(But let’s get real, blogs don’t have phones.)

I am a Grade A promise breaker when it comes to this blog. I wrote about a month ago that I was going to make wedding cake trifles and post the result here. Did I do it? Nope. Last week, I posted a teaser photo of Healthy Eggs Benedict on Twitter, saying the recipe was coming soon to the blog. Do a search, and what do you find? Nothing.

I’m the worst. I apologize. But in an effort to become more consistent and fulfill my promises, I’m publishing a two-part {Project Recipe} concoction that will help you (and my blog) forgive my negligence. For today, it’s …

Wedding cake trifles!

Our wedding cake lasted about three weeks in our fridge. I was obsessed with it. I didn’t want it to end. However, when I looked up ideas on Pinterest for things to do with leftover cake, the majority of the suggestions said cake balls were the way to go.

Cake balls? You want me to smash up my magnificent layer cake into a soggy ball and still enjoy it? No thanks.

IMG_3156
No squishing beyond this point.

The suggestions in the minority said trifles were a good idea. You could make them as healthy or as crazy as you wanted, but it all came down to inspiration of the moment. I latched on to this idea like Jack and Rose to a plank in the middle of the Atlantic. I love recipes that require nothing but imagination and a few ingredients.

So, this {Project Recipe} isn’t really a recipe … it’s an inspiration diving board. Take the plunge and invent your own trifle!

IMG_3183
Mangos were the fruit of choice in this trifle.

Here are the base ingredients to help get you started:

Wedding Cake Trifles

Ingredients

Leftover cake. Could be wedding cake, birthday cake, cupcakes that didn’t come out right … something with a spongy texture.

Cold dairy product. Healthy option: Greek yogurt, or frozen yogurt. Crazy option: Ice cream or sorbet.

Chilled fruit. Pick two or three of your favorite fruits and cut into small chunks.

Topping. There aren’t a whole lot of healthy options here, so splurge a little bit. Chocolate syrup, amaretto liqueur, whipped cream, caramel, coffee creamer … the possibilities are endless.

Directions

Layer the first three ingredients in a cup (the size depends on your appetite, but make sure it’s clear so you can ogle at the layers). When you reach the top, drizzle with your topping(s) of choice.

Devour like your life depends on it.

Come back tomorrow for Part 2: Healthy Eggs Benedict!

Author:

Christ follower. Wife. Mama.

One thought on “{Project Recipe} Broken Promises, Part 1

Leave a Reply

