Posted in Food & Drink, {Project Recipe}

{Project Recipe} Double Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins

You know that feeling you get when you have bananas going brown on your counter? That thought in the back of your mind that says, “You really should eat more bananas faster.” Because, obviously, if you did that, you wouldn’t have six brown bananas staring dolefully at you (ha, Dole, I’m so punny).

But sometimes, I think we (or I, at least) leave the bananas there on purpose. Because, if we wait long enough, those bananas can turn into something even more magical than just plain ol’ bananas. Like super moist banana bread. Or delectable muffins. Or fluffy pancakes. Or anything involving sugar and flour and a few chocolate chips.

I was in a similar situation yesterday. I had brown bananas and no freezer room to store them for later (it’s all your fault, monthly Costco trip). So when Jerod suggested making banana bread, I couldn’t think of a better time to start baking than right-the-heck then.

I made sugarless banana bread on Day 22 of the sugar smackdown in February, so I decided to revisit that recipe. Instead of eliminating the honey this time, I followed Half Baked‘s recipe exactly, plus added a cup (OK, let’s be honest, 1 1/2 cups) of carob chips and sprinkled shredded coconut on top before baking. It was, as I expected, DELICIOUS. I’ve been using it to make baked French toast for lunch (Seeded at the Table is the genius behind this idea).

However, that recipe only called for 3 bananas. I still had 3 bananas left. And I had a brand-new Costco-sized bag of chocolate chips in my pantry. So OBVIOUSLY I had to search for chocolate chip banana muffins on Pinterest.

Lawfully Wedded Wife came to the rescue with an amazing recipe for double chocolate banana bread. Not only is Lauren’s blog title super clever (she’s a law student and she’s married, I love it), but she knows what she’s talking about when it comes to delicious recipes (I need to make her salted caramel banana muffins sometime). Be sure to check her blog out!

Lauren’s recipe is for jumbo-sized muffins, but I divvied the mix up into regular muffin tins and it yielded about 20 muffins. I had more than enough to take some to work and keep some at home for future bliss. WIN WIN FOR THE WIN.

Photo 2
I can fit two cupcake pans on the same rack in the oven!

Double Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins

Ingredients

2 eggs

2/3 cup light brown sugar

1/3 cup oil (Amanda’s note: I used coconut oil)

1 cup milk

3 overripe bananas

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2/3 cup Greek yogurt

1 cup unbleached cake flour (Amanda’s note: I used whole wheat flour)

1 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 tablespoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon espresso powder (optional)

1/2 cup cocoa powder

1 cup dark chocolate chips or dark chocolate chunks (Amanda’s note: I used semi-sweet chocolate chips)

Directions (according to Lauren)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the eggs, oil, milk, yogurt, mashed bananas, vanilla, and espresso powder until very well combined (it will still be lumpy from the banana, that’s perfectly fine).

In a separate large bowl, stir together the flours, cocoa, salt, baking powder, baking soda, and brown sugar.

Pour the wet ingredients into the bowl of dry ingredients. Fold together JUST until the ingredients are incorporated, then fold in the chocolate chips.

Grease a muffin tin and pour batter evenly into the cups of the tin.

Sprinkle additional chocolate chips on top of the muffins (optional, but highly recommended).

Bake for 25-35 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Cool for 5 minutes in the tin, then remove to a cooling rack to cool the rest of the way.

Lauren’s note: I can see myself eating these warmed up with just a little swipe of peanut butter. Holy yum.

Author:

Christ follower. Wife. Mama.

2 thoughts on “{Project Recipe} Double Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins

Leave a Reply

