Posted in Family, Food & Drink, Holidays, Jerod, {Project Recipe}

{Project Recipe} Classic Snickerdoodles

Happy belated Fourth of July! Or, as my bestie, Esther, says, “Happy fifth! Live in the now!”

My parents and sister, Mary Ann, came into town to visit for the holiday, so we got to explore a little bit of Tri-Cities with them. Locally made pizza at Hubby’s, riding the trolley around Columbia Park,  and Texas Roadhouse (it exists out West!) were highlights as we explored the area. (I posted more Fourth of July photos on Google+, too.)

IMG_3203
Riding the Columbia Park trolley
IMG_3211
We love Texas Roadhouse

After they had to go home (boo), Jerod and I took a “fire walk” around the neighborhood, watching fireworks light up the sky in the community. Hopefully fire walks become an annual thing; Fourth of July is one of my favorite holidays, and the pyromaniac in me loves fireworks. 🙂

IMG_3216
first annual fire walk

I haven’t baked in a couple weeks (I’ve been slowly working through our wedding cake, it’s still DELICIOUS), so I broke out the cookie pan and my Betty Crocker cookbook and, at Jerod’s request, found a recipe for snickerdoodles. We both have fond memories of making these with our families when we were younger, and I’ve never made them solo before (i.e. Mom-less). Good ol’ Betty made the process sound simple enough. And true to form, it was!

The one thing I didn’t have that the recipe called for was cream of tartar. I know, I know, I should be a good baker and have every single herb, spice, and additive known to man in my pantry. But what the heck would I use cream of tartar for? A snickerdoodle spree? Actually, that sounds pretty amazing …

ANYway, I substituted baking powder and eliminated the cream of tartar and baking soda from the original recipe. It also calls for shortening, which made me gag a little, so I substituted coconut oil instead. You couldn’t even tell I’d made these substitutions in the finished product. They baked perfectly and didn’t taste like even a hint of coconut (who wants tropical-tasting snickerdoodles, ew).

You’ll know the cookies are done when they start to crack slightly on top. That’s a classic snickerdoodle, right there.

IMG_3221
Cinnamon-y goodness

Classic Snickerdoodles

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups sugar

1/2 cup butter or margarine, softened

1/2 cup shortening (Amanda’s substitution: coconut oil)

2 eggs

2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons cream of tartar and 1 teaspoon baking soda (Amanda’s substitution: 2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder)

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 cup sugar

2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

Directions

Heat oven to 400 degrees. Set aside ungreased cookie sheet.

In a large bowl, beat 1 1/2 cups sugar, butter, shortening (or oil), and eggs with a fork until smooth. Stir in flour, cream of tartar and baking soda (or baking powder), and salt.

In a small bowl, mix 1/4 cup sugar and cinnamon. This is your snickerdoodle coating.

Shape dough into 1-inch balls, roughly the size of a golf ball. Roll in snickerdoodle coating and place in orderly rows on the cookie sheet (Amanda’s note: This is my OCD talking, you can place them however you want).

Bake 8 to 10 minutes or until set. Immediately transfer from cookie sheet to wire cooling rack. Let cool for 5 minutes.

Package and take to work to share with co-workers to get them to like you. (What? That’s what I did.) 🙂

Source: Betty Crocker Cookbook New Edition, page 181

Author:

Christ follower. Wife. Mama.

2 thoughts on “{Project Recipe} Classic Snickerdoodles

  1. Cream of Tartar is some alien chemical thing, but extremely useful. Keep it on hand. Here’s why. It can be:

    *Added to whipped cream after it has been whipped to stabilize it.
    *Added to egg whites when whipping them to increase their volume and help them maintain peaks at higher temperatures.
    *Added when boiling vegetables to reduce discoloration.
    *It is one of the key ingredients in some formulations of baking powder, where it reacts with baking soda and an acid to produce carbon dioxide to promote rising of baked goods.
    *Used to make icing for gingerbread houses.
    *If you run out of Baking powder, you can combine it with baking soda to make your own Baking Powder.

    So there. And in case you think I’m really smart for knowing this, really I’m not. I only knew about the egg whites and the baking powder substitution. The rest I googled. Oh well.

Leave a Reply

