Posted in Current Events, Jerod, Marriage, Personal Musings

The Jarvis Journal: Vol. 3

It’s been a year since Jerod and I got married. Two years since we got engaged. The first volume of The Jarvis Journal was published in the form of a wedding invitation. The second: our wedding programs. And now, a year into our marriage, the third installment is coming to you live from the Internet. Mostly because I ran out of stamps. 🙂

Jerod and I will be celebrating our 1-year anniversary on Sunday, June 23. I remember feeling like the week leading up to the wedding was the longest and slowest of my life. Now, I feel like time is moving way too fast. Life changes and events are in motion — some in my control and some not — that are laying crazy roller coaster tracks 2 seconds in front of the roller coaster seat I strapped myself in to. I keep feeling like I’m careening out of control, that my roller coaster cart is going to jump the rails, but so far that hasn’t happened. So right now, I’m just going with it.

The most major event that’s sent my roller coaster life for a crazy loop is a new job. I applied for a copy editor position at the Tri-City Herald and was offered the job within two weeks of application. I accepted the job, and my first official day is this Friday, June 21.

tri_city_herald_01
my new workplace

One of the conditions of taking the job, however, was moving to the circulation area. This isn’t something Jerod and I were sure we could do at first, because he didn’t want to leave his job in Spokane. However, since his position at his company deals primarily with online sales and promotion, he was able to come up with a work-from-home solution. He will primarily work from our new home in Tri-Cities, and commute to his Spokane office once a week.

ph1032_w514_h325
our new apartment

We are moving this weekend into our new apartment and are looking forward to exploring a new area of Washington (hello, wine country!). Jerod and I will start a new crossfit membership at a box in Tri-Cities, and we’ll need to find a new church. However, we’re only 2-ish hours away from Spokane, and will be in town on a regular basis (I’ll be at Farmgirlfit once a week, if anyone wants to join me!), so our lives might not change as much as we initially thought. We’ll see, though. If this past year of being married has taught me anything, it’s to not rely too much on expectations. 🙂

The news has been out there for a while, but I wanted to make it official here on the blog. Jerod and I appreciate everyone’s prayers and support, and hopefully I’ll develop enough discipline to update the blog more regularly with recipes, fun stuff, and what we’re up to. I see a lot of interesting things happening in our future, and this blog needs to get in on the action. 🙂

Author:

Christ follower. Wife. Mama.

3 thoughts on “The Jarvis Journal: Vol. 3

  1. Shut the friggity front door, Jarvis!!!!!!!!!! Tri-Cities????? Really???? Cole’s family lives in Sunnyside (30 min from TC) and we’re moving there in February! We’re gonna be, like, neighbors!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This is the greatest news I’ve heard all day.

Leave a Reply

