Posted in Food & Drink, Super Brief Fridays, {Project Recipe}

{Project Recipe} Challenge: Cookbook May

Happy Friday and May the 4th be with you tomorrow!

Since it’s the start of a new month, and I haven’t really challenged myself with anything food-related since the sugar smackdown in February, I figured it was time for something new. As my boss would say, “As if you need another challenge.” 🙂

The founding premise of {Project Recipe} was to find cool recipes on Pinterest, put them to the test, and share the results here on the blog. That system has been working great. However, I received a bunch of cookbooks and family recipes at my bridal shower last spring that have hardly seen the light of day because of my obsession with Internet food bloggers (I love you all so much, you don’t even know). I was sitting in my pantry the other night (like I do), leafing through a cookbook devoted entirely to the making and eating of pancakes. Pinterest has nothing on this piece of work. I mean, it was an entire BOOK filled with nothing but pancake, waffle, and crepe recipes. And it was printed and bound, like recipes were in the good ol’ days! How have I NOT been living on pancakes for the past year?

Before everyone older than the Internet gets mad at me, I grew up on old-school cookbooks. My mom is a home economics genius, and she has always preferred hard-copy recipes to the Internet. And honestly, I can’t blame her. Recipe cards, cookbooks, and family concoctions are more than just pieces of nostalgia; they are works of art, passed down through generations, only getting tastier with time.

So, this month’s personal challenge: Take a hiatus from Pinterest and create meals solely from cookbooks, family recipes, or my brain. No Internet allowed. I’ve already found some awesome recipes I want to try this weekend. Check this one out:

(source: 2001 Taste of Home Annual Recipes)
(source: 2001 Taste of Home Annual Recipes)

The only hurdle I foresee is cookbooks, unless written with a specific audience in mind (think gluten-free, diabetics, etc.), tend toward the unhealthy. Like the “add a stick of butter and a dollop of whipped cream” Paula Deen kind of unhealthy. So I’ll be doing my best to: 1. Find the healthiest recipes in my barrage of cookbooks, or 2. Create relevant substitutions. I’ll make a note in the recipes I post if/how I strayed from the recipe, and I’ll always give credit to the original work. I couldn’t do this without other people’s awesome ideas! I’ll update a photo album on Google+ regularly with recipes I’ve found and want to try, too. I might not get to all of them this month, but who says I have to stop when June gets here? 🙂

Author:

Christ follower. Wife. Mama.

2 thoughts on “{Project Recipe} Challenge: Cookbook May

  1. Something I’ve done since we were married, you might like to try. Every time I make a recipe from one of my cookbooks, I note the date, give it a grade and note any changes I made or any that I suggest for the next time. It’s been neat to come across recipes I made early on and forgot about and then re-do them. It is also extremely helpful in the long run and I hope it will create a good family heirloom type thing to hand down to my girls later. I would LOVE to have a cookbook with my mom’s notes in it.

    1. I absolutely love this idea! I’m definitely going to make this a habit. It gives me more motivation to use cookbooks on a regular basis, too. 🙂 Thanks, Blair!

Leave a Reply

