Posted in Food & Drink, Uncategorized, {Project Recipe}

{Project Recipe} Clean Eating Caramel Corn

I’m obsessed with popcorn. OB. SESSED. As noted in my sugar smackdown journal, air-popped popcorn made an almost daily appearance. Now that I’m slowly integrating sugar back into my diet (still no refined sugar or white flour, though), I’ve been able to experiment with different variations of popcorn. Because popcorn can only get better, right?

I found a 2-ingredient clean eating caramel popcorn recipe by The Gracious Pantry (via Pinterest) that claimed to be healthy, and I immediately became suspicious. A lot of recipes on Pinterest say they’re “healthy,” but call for 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar, plus chocolate chips and other add-ons. Yummy? Yup. Healthy? Not a chance.

So when the recipe’s two ingredients turned out to be nut butter and honey, my suspicion was assuaged. I’m a sucker for any popcorn of the sweet persuasion, so I pulled out my Stir Crazy and gave the concoction a shot.

I’m never eating real caramel again.

Turns out, almond butter + honey trumps caramel any day. You heard me. I’m going to be THAT girl who sneaks her own caramel corn into baseball games this summer. It’s that good.

Between boiling the caramel and making the popcorn, the whole process takes about 10 minutes. Super convenient and pretty darn healthy. Be forewarned: This is one of those “bet you can’t eat just one” scenarios. So if you’re feeling generous, have a friend around when you make this. If not … I definitely won’t judge. 🙂

Clean Eating Caramel Corn

Ingredients

Bowl of air-popped popcorn

1/2 cup honey

1/4 cup nut butter (I used almond)

Sea salt (optional)

Directions

Prepare popcorn in your desired maker (stovetop, microwave, Stir Crazy, etc.) and set aside in a large bowl.

Warm honey in a small pot on medium high stovetop until it comes to a boil. Immediately remove from heat and stir in nut butter. Consistency should be runny and creamy.

Pour caramel over popcorn and stir until evenly coated. Sprinkle with sea salt, if desired.

Place bowl in refrigerator for a few minutes to let caramel coating harden. If you can wait that long.

Variation: Add in favorite nuts, small candy pieces, shredded coconut, or pretzel sticks to gourmet it up.

Author:

Christ follower. Wife. Mama.

3 thoughts on “{Project Recipe} Clean Eating Caramel Corn

Leave a Reply

