Posted in Food & Drink, {Project Recipe}

{Project Recipe} Bacon Peanut Butter Cups

Disclaimer: This Project Recipe wasn’t originally my idea.

My brother-in-law, Jordan, texted me a screenshot of bacon peanut butter cups (yes, BACON) he found somewhere on the Internet with the caption: “Hint Hint. Haha.”

Always up for a challenge, I immediately responded, “Hint taken. Prepare yourself.”

I haven’t made candy much, since I haven’t been able to eat it myself lately, plus a lot of candy recipes require a lot of time and effort. Fortunately, the sugar smackdown is (officially) over, and the recipe I tracked down on Pinterest seemed simple enough.

Plus, I mean, peanut butter + chocolate + BACON? How could I NOT make these?

Pass the Sushi was my source for this endeavor, and I made a few changes based on what I had in my pantry. As per Jordan’s preference (and mine, too, for that matter) I opted to use dark chocolate chips for the shell. Kita, author of Pass the Sushi, had some great tips regarding the most important bacon part of the recipe:

Make sure your bacon is crispy. It’s going to be mixed in with other soft ingredients so don’t let it get lost. If you think you have too much bacon, probably not. People expect bacon immediately when they bite into something called “bacon peanut butter cup” so don’t go soft on them.

So without further ado, I give you … the best thing you’ll ever put in your mouth.

Bacon Peanut Butter Cups

Ingredients

1-1 1/2 cups chocolate chips of choice (I used dark chocolate)

8 tablespoons butter (divided)

1/2 cup + 2 tablespoons peanut butter

1 cup powdered sugar

2/3 cup vanilla wafer crumbs

6 strips of extra-crispy bacon

24-30, 1 1/2-inch candy cups

Directions (slightly modified from Pass the Sushi)

Melt about 1 cup chocolate chips with 1 tablespoon of butter, either in the microwave or in a double boiler. Stir until smooth. Once chocolate is melted, use about one spoonful in each cup. Fully coat the entire edge of the cup. Place in the refrigerator to set up.

Meanwhile, over low heat, melt 1/2 cup and 2 tablespoons of peanut butter with 6 tablespoons of butter. Mix well. Remove mixture from heat.

Mix 1 cup of powdered sugar and 2/3 cup vanilla wafer crumbs into melted peanut butter/butter mixture. Add well-crumbled bacon. Fill each cup just shy of the top with peanut butter bacon filling.

Top cups with remaining chocolate. Sprinkle with sea salt (if desired) and place in refrigerator to set.

Author:

Christ follower. Wife. Mama.

2 thoughts on “{Project Recipe} Bacon Peanut Butter Cups

Leave a Reply

