Posted in Crossfit, Exercise, Food & Drink, Sugar Smackdown

Day 27: The Edge of Freedom

I’ve been stalking the dried fruit in my pantry like it’s my job. Today marks the second-to-last day of the sugar smackdown, and while I’m not going on a sugar bender March 1, I am looking forward to adding certain things back into my diet. I’m especially excited about dried fruit and honey (baking without honey, while not impossible, has been a challenge).

It’s interesting how I can handle little sugar cravings in the middle of the month, but when I have less than 48 sugarless hours left my body starts freaking out. I was excessively tempted — to the point of almost breaking — to eat a handful of dried coconut when I was in the pantry this afternoon. It took me leaving the house to overcome the craving (and I had a handful of soy nuts and sunflower seeds instead).

soon
I felt like this cat.

However, the fact that the craving for sugar is still so prevalent makes me think I’m not completely out of the woods yet, as far as detoxing is concerned. The way my body is reacting indicates I’m still hooked on refined and artificial sugars. Now that I’ve taken a month to step back and observe how my body survives without sugar, I realize it’s a very unhealthy obsession. Not that sugar is inherently bad … I just need to consume it in moderation. That will be my next personal experiment, when I keep to a limited-sugar regimen for the month of March (I’m adding honey/agave, dried fruit, protein powder, dark chocolate, and limited alcohol back into my diet).

24 hours left! 🙂

Day 27 Progress Report

Breakfast: Omelet seasoned with salt and pepper. Plain oatmeal with cinnamon, banana slices, soy nuts, sunflower seeds, and almonds. Black coffee.

Lunch: Long grain brown rice with red pepper and garlic powder, shallots, and Parmesan cheese. Fresh salsa with rice crackers.

Snack: Baked apple, nut & seed mix (sunflower seeds, pistachios, soy nuts, almonds, cashews, peanuts).

Dinner: Salad with shredded chicken (mixed greens, pomegranate seeds, apple slices, mushrooms, strawberry slices, and balsamic vinegar/olive oil for dressing).

Snack: Air-popped popcorn, blueberries.

Breakfast:

Author:

Christ follower. Wife. Mama.

4 thoughts on “Day 27: The Edge of Freedom

  1. Hi Amanda, Came across your blog whilst researching for my own! I’m currently detoxing too – omitting wheat, dairy, trans fats, alcohol,and caffeine. I’ve also recently qualified as a personal trainer and I can’t ask clients to do something if I’m not prepared to give it a go! I’m impressed by your resolve and your honesty today. I haven’t read all the month’s post yet – but I will do! I’ve tried out your banana cake and the oat/banana/pear/nut cookies. I shared them out at work and everyone was amazed that something sugar- free could taste so good. Hope you don’t mind if I cross-ref to your blog please? Keep up the good work – it’s inspiring me!!!

    1. Hey JP! Thanks so much for your encouraging note! Your detox sounds intense, I love it! Please feel free to cross-ref as much as you like. My posts were inspired by others who went before me, and I can only hope to do the same for others in the future. 🙂 We’re all in this together!

Leave a Reply

