Posted in Crossfit, Exercise, Food & Drink, Sugar Smackdown

Day 26: Stir-Crazy for Stir Crazy

Confession: I’m addicted to popcorn. I’m having a hard time writing this blog post because I’m trying to finish off the bowl next to me before Jerod does. It’s pretty pathetic.

My bosses gave Jerod and me a Stir Crazy popcorn popper for our wedding, and it’s one of our most-used wedding items. We’ve shared a bowl almost every night this month, and as far as snacks go, it’s been a fantastic option. Since I pop the kernels myself and only adding a little sea salt for flavor, I eliminate all the extra crap that comes in store-bought bags. It’s pretty healthy because it’s puffed corn (duh), plus it’s filling, so I don’t feel the need to continue snacking afterward. The salty kick helps offset any sugar cravings I experience, too.

Snacking healthy is hard. When I want a snack, I crave something I can eat mindlessly while doing something else (popcorn during a movie, Greek yogurt with fruit while reading, trail mix with M&Ms during a long drive). Unfortunately, most snack foods are loaded with calories and sugar. I’ve had to make a conscious effort during this challenge to take into account exactly what and how much I’m snacking. Fortunately, eliminating sugar has severely limited my options, so I’ve had to think outside the box for snack foods.

Nut and seed mixes are great for mid-morning and mid-afternoon pick-me-ups. I’ve been eating a mixture of almonds, sunflower seeds, and soy nuts, and they’re all loaded with protein. Nuts are seeds are very hearty, so they’ll fill up the stomach after a couple handfuls. Plus they’re a great portable snack — just throw in a Ziploc and go.

Pining for sugar? Fill up a little bowl of blueberries and stock up on antioxidants. Can’t have too many of those. I also like Cuties California Mandarins and baked apples in a bag.

Salty craving? Popcorn is your guy. It just doesn’t get much better. 🙂

Just craving something yummy? A spoonful of almond butter is a great source of protein. Pair with a sliced banana or sprinkle with nuts and seeds and prepare to be amazed.

The bottom line: Snack intentionally. Just because a food wrapper says “snack” on it doesn’t mean the contents should be ingested between meals. 🙂 And when in doubt, eat popcorn.

Day 26 Progress Report

Breakfast: Black coffee, plain oatmeal with cinnamon and banana slices, small slice of homemade sugarless banana bread.

Lunch: Chicken breast and leftover stuffed pepper mix. Cutie.

Snack: Baked apple slices.

Dinner: Fresh salsa and rice crackers. Quinoa with carrots, green beans, and mushrooms.

Snack: Cherry tomatoes, broccoli, snap peas, carrots. Air-popped popcorn.

Author:

Christ follower. Wife. Mama.

Leave a Reply

