Posted in Crossfit, Exercise, Food & Drink, Sugar Smackdown, {Project Recipe}

Day 22: Daily Bread

I. Love. Bread. Let’s just be honest, who doesn’t? It’s comfort food, it complements every meal, and you get unlimited bread basket refills (for free!) when you go to restaurants. Plus, it plays a part in a major plotline of The Hunger Games.

Sorry. Couldn’t resist.

Anyway, there are two problems when trying to include bread in a sugarless diet:

1. Most recipes call for all-purpose flour (a restricted item during this challenge).

2. They generally call for some type of sugar.

I couldn’t resign myself to bread abstinence for a month because of two lousy reasons. After all, I was only 7 days into the challenge when I decided to bake fruit & nut whole wheat bread (I’m still working on the two loaves I made and they’re still awesome). Today, I felt like making banana bread. Mostly because I had super-ripe bananas that needed to be utilized, but also because I wanted to see if I could make a loaf that would satisfy both my sugarless routine and non-crazy normal people.

Thanks to Pinterest, I found a recipe by Half Baked that fit the bill.  I modified it a little bit, based on the ingredients I had, but the finished product was fantastic. To fit the sugarless guidelines, I ate my slice dry. For everyone else, top with a thin layer of butter and drizzle with honey and you’ll be good to go!

Sugarless Whole Wheat Banana Bread

Ingredients

2 cups whole-wheat flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 tsp cinnamon

3 (super-ripe) bananas

1/4 cup olive oil (modification for sugar smackdown guidelines)

2 eggs

¼ cup sour cream (The original recipe calls for Greek yogurt. Either one would work great.)

1 teaspoon vanilla (I left this out because I didn’t have any and I couldn’t tell a difference.)

Directions

Preheat the oven to 356 degrees (the original recipe called for 180 degrees Celsius). Grease a bread loaf pan and set aside.

In a medium bowl, thoroughly mix the dry ingredients.

In a large bowl, mash the bananas. Add oil, eggs, sour cream, and vanilla. Mix until smooth. ( Note: It will be a little chunky because of the bananas. You can either puree the mixture in the blender or leave it chunky. I left the chunks in and it turned out fine.)

Slowly add dry mixture to wet mixture while stirring. Don’t overstir, but make sure everything is combined.

Pour batter into loaf pan. Bake for 10 minutes, then cover with tin foil and bake for another 30 minutes. Check frequently to make sure the bread isn’t burning. To make sure it’s done, insert a toothpick into the middle. If it comes out clean, then it’s ready!

Cool completely on cooling rack before serving. If you can wait that long.

 

Day 22 Progress Report

6:30 a.m. workout at Farmgirlfit: 1,000-meter row for time, 1-rep max strict shoulder press (new PR: 65#), 200 double-unders for time. Then 50 pull-ups, 50 sit-ups, 50 box jumps, 50 wipers, and 50 wall balls for time.

Breakfast: Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup Smoothie (banana, almond milk, almond butter, plain Greek yogurt), plain oatmeal with banana slices.

Lunch: Seafood stir-fry, piece of sugarless whole wheat banana bread. Black coffee.

Snack: Soy nuts, almonds, and sunflower seeds. Apple slices.

Dinner: Three shrimp, baked salmon with spices, steamed broccoli, side salad (mixed greens, tomato, cabbage, carrots) with balsamic vinegar and olive oil dressing (from Black Angus Steakhouse).

Snack: Air-popped popcorn. Soy nuts, almonds, and sunflower seeds.

Author:

Christ follower. Wife. Mama.

Leave a Reply

