Posted in Crossfit, Exercise, Food & Drink, Sugar Smackdown, {Project Recipe}

Day 21: The Home Stretch

Today marks the last 7 days of the official sugar smackdown. I say “official” because, as of how I feel right now, I’m going to continue a low-sugar eating plan after February ends. I decided this for a couple reasons. First, I’ve had quite a few people tell me they are planning to or are already have implemented sugarless eating into their diets. This is PURE AWESOME. And since the power of community during this challenge has been almost palpable, it just doesn’t seem right to stop after a month. I’m already committed to a slightly modified sugar smackdown in March with one of my friends (my conditions: I get honey/agave, dried fruit, protein powder, dark chocolate, and limited alcohol back), and I’ve enjoyed the challenge of successfully making sugarless recipes and sharing them via Pinterest and this blog.

Secondly, I’ve just been feeling better. Like I mentioned in Day 15’s blog post, I’ve felt so much lighter and more energized since I stopped ingesting refined sugar. I even enjoy black coffee now (I knew it). Physically, I feel stronger, and while denying my sugar cravings sucked at first, I’m enjoying the challenge of self-control. I realize I don’t need to be controlled by my cravings, and that’s a very freeing thought.

On to today’s recipe! I experimented with baking my own chips for dinner. I’ve been eating rosemary crackers and rice crackers to add some crunch to my daily meals, but nothing can quite satisfy like a potato chip. Since Lay’s are clearly out of the picture, I decided to put the last sweet potato in my pantry to good use.

I found a dual recipe for homemade potato chips & avocado ranch dip from Food for My Family and just used my sweet potato instead of regular potatoes. I found that the baked sweet potato chips didn’t need any seasoning while cooking (except maybe a little salt); the plain chips held their own when it came to flavor. Plus, the avocado ranch dip was a great complement to the chips.

Homemade Sweet Potato Chips

Ingredients

1 large sweet potato

olive oil

salt (optional)

parchment paper

Directions

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Slice potato into thin, even pieces. Place slices on parchment paper and lightly drizzle with olive oil. Bake for 15 minutes, then flip. Bake for another 10 minutes, then flip again. Bake for 10 more minutes until golden brown and crispy. Serve warm.

Homemade Avocado Ranch Dip

Ingredients

1 avocado
1/2 cup Greek yogurt
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1 teaspoon fresh chives, finely chopped
1 teaspoon fresh flat-leaf parsley, minced
1/2 teaspoon dried dill
1/2 teaspoon onion powder
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
1/4 teaspoon kosher salt

Directions

Mash avocado and mix with Greek yogurt and lemon juice. Add spices and mix well. Serve cold with sweet potato chips.

 

Day 21 Progress Report

Breakfast: Smoothie (banana and strawberry slices, plain Greek yogurt, almond milk, almond butter), black coffee, plain oatmeal with banana slices.

Lunch: Seafood stir-fry. Side salad with cucumbers, tomato, and balsamic vinegar/olive oil dressing. Two cuties.

Snack: Two small banana apple strawberry oatmeal cookies.

Dinner: Baked sweet potato chips with avocado ranch dip. Almonds, sunflower seeds, and soy nuts. Two cuties.

Author:

Christ follower. Wife. Mama.

Leave a Reply

