Posted in Crossfit, Exercise, Food & Drink, Satire/Humor, Sugar Smackdown

Day 20: On the Go

For some reason, I receive the weirdest comments when I’m in public.  I was filling up my car at Costco after work today, and I needed to wash my windshield because I ran out of wiper fluid and the weather’s been nuts (Especially on the North Side. Snow in the morning and 55 degrees in the afternoon. What the what?). Anyway, apparently I did a stellar job wielding the squeegee, because the woman filling up her car in front of me commented, “Wow, you are really good at that! You must have worked at a gas station or something!”

I didn’t have much of a choice but to own it. I did, IMHO, do a pretty great job. I smiled and said, “Nope! Just pure talent! Won’t let a gas station take credit for that!” Then I awkwardly put the squeegee and gas pump away and drove away, contemplating my 4-year college degree and how I could have skipped all that and been a fantastic gas station attendant. (Side note: Since super-awkward comedies are in right now, I’d like to pitch my life as a series. I’m looking at you, Fox.)

Anyway, that has nothing to do with the sugar smackdown. I just thought it was hilarious. 🙂

I’ve spotlighted a lot of sugarless recipes that require some prep time during this challenge. However, I know not everyone has time to spend in the kitchen. And being super busy can open a very tempting door when it comes to meals: fast food. If you find yourself in front of this door, don’t turn the knob just yet! There’s a better solution: Amy’s Kitchen Bowls.

My friend Deb introduced me to these little frozen wonders tonight. She found the Mexican Casserole Bowl at Huckleberry’s Natural Market and invited me over for dinner to try it. I’ll admit, I was a little skeptical at first. I’d yet to try a frozen meal that was healthy, much less satisfying and not filled with preservatives. However, I was pleasantly surprised at how filling it was. I added a side of fresh salsa and rosemary chips to complete the Mexican meal feel. And it was all free of sugar. Not too shabby!

So, all you busy people out there: You don’t have an excuse to eat fast food (or Hot Pockets, or Lean Cuisine, or Hungry-Man …) anymore. Pick up a few of Amy’s meals and put them in your community freezer at work. Don’t forget to put your name on them, though. I can almost guarantee your co-workers will want to steal them.

Day 20 Progress Report

Breakfast: Smoothie (banana and strawberry slices, plain Greek yogurt, almond milk, almond butter), black coffee, omelet seasoned with salt and pepper.

Lunch: Seafood stir-fry. Rosemary crackers with fresh salsa.

Snack: Strawberry and pear slices. Almonds, sunflower seeds, and soy nuts.

Dinner: Amy’s Mexican Casserole Bowl, rosemary crackers and fresh salsa with avocado, cutie, two plain chicken wings.

Author:

Christ follower. Wife. Mama.

Leave a Reply

