Posted in Crossfit, Exercise, Food & Drink, Sugar Smackdown

Day 16: On the Road

Resisting sugary temptation was at an all-time high today. I’m visiting my mom and sister on the Oregon coast for the weekend, and I’m being accosted by chocolate, dressings, and marinades. For some reason, tourism isn’t complete without some form of sugar. Chocolate is EVERYWHERE (my current craving), and Jerod’s favorite childhood candy store, Bruce’s Candy Kitchen, was one of the tourist highlights. However, I’m happy to report that I stared sugar in the face and didn’t partake even a little bit. The most I did was get a photo for Jerod’s nostalgia.

IMG_2565
resisting temptation at Bruce’s Candy Kitchen

Being on the road with sugar restrictions has been interesting. It hasn’t been as bad as I thought, but it does limit my options. And I get to be that person who bugs the waiter about what exactly is going into my food. I hit the jackpot with my vacation destination, though, because Oregon is very health-conscious (Portlandia, anyone?). I didn’t run into any problems finding something appropriate to eat for lunch or dinner, and I felt full and satisfied. I’m a successful sugarless traveler! đŸ™‚

Day 16 Progress Report

Breakfast: Smoothie (Greek yogurt, strawberries, blueberries, almond milk), black coffee.

Late Breakfast: Greek yogurt pancakes with blackberries, omelet (two eggs, avocado, onions).

Lunch: Garden salad (spinach, arugula, tomatoes, cucumber) with balsamic vinegar and olive oil (from Sweet Basil’s).

IMG_2564
Sweet Basil’s garden salad

Snack: Walnuts, almonds, and pistachios. Dehydrated apple slices. Chamomile tea.

Dinner: Baked salmon with arugula and balsamic vinegar and olive oil on the side; quinoa, lime, cilantro, and avocado salad (from Baked Alaska).

IMG_2575
salmon and arugula
IMG_2576
quinoa salad
Author:

Christ follower. Wife. Mama.

Leave a Reply

