Posted in Crossfit, Exercise, Food & Drink, Sugar Smackdown

Day 15: Changes

I knew going into the sugar smackdown that it was going to change how I approached life. Being a natural-born pessimist, I assumed these changes would be mostly negative. I would have to shun my favorite foods, avoid restaurants, and watch my husband and friends enjoy all these things while sticking to specific guidelines.

Fifteen days in, these things aren’t as big a deal to me anymore. Yes, I miss chocolate and wine like crazy, and it’s a little taxing to make separate meals for Jerod and me, but beside those things, the changes have been overwhelmingly positive. Emotionally, physically, and mentally, I’m being stretched and challenged for the better.

The change I particularly noticed today was physical. I completed the 7:30 a.m. workout at Farmgirlfit, and I felt noticeably lighter. Even though I’d just woken up 30 minutes before the workout, my body didn’t feel sluggish at all. I didn’t get winded as easily during the workout, and I felt energized and accomplished when I was finished. I might just be getting stronger because of a regular workout routine, but I think part of the change is due to the absence of sugar in my system.

I like this feeling a lot, so I’m considering limiting my sugar intake even after the challenge ends. I’m not exactly sure what that will look like yet, but I wouldn’t mind feeling optimistic more consistently. 🙂 If less sugar intake helps with that, then I’m in.

Day 15 Progress Report

Work out at Farmgirlfit at 7:30 a.m. Six rounds of 2 clean & jerks, increasing weight each round (2-rep max: 80 pounds). Then 4 rounds: 200-meter run, 10 knees-to-elbows, and 10 box jumps (final time: 11:38).

Breakfast: Omelet (2 eggs seasoned with salt and pepper), black coffee, nut & berry whole wheat bread with almond butter.

Snack: Almonds, walnuts, and pistachios. Apple slices.

Lunch: Chicken seasoned with pesto, brown rice and quinoa mix; baked sweet potato, celery, onion, and mushroom on the side.

Dinner: Leftover chicken, quinoa, and vegetables from lunch.

Snack: Air-popped popcorn.

Author:

Christ follower. Wife. Mama.

One thought on “Day 15: Changes

Leave a Reply

