Posted in Crossfit, Exercise, Food & Drink, Sugar Smackdown

Day 13: Friends

One of the coolest blessings I have received while participating in this challenge has been the friends who have encouraged and supported me from Day 1. No disbelief, no doubt. Just uplifting conversation, encouraging words, and a lot of humor thrown in to make sugarless living more bearable.

I specifically experienced this tonight when I went over to a friend’s house for dinner. I had informed her earlier today about my participation in the sugar smackdown, and asked if it would be OK if I brought my own food so she didn’t have to change her dinner plans. She was extremely gracious and said she would still make enough for both of us, but if I chose to bring my own food she wouldn’t be offended.

Since the tortilla soup she was preparing included sugar, I begrudgingly packed up some leftover minestrone soup and took it with me. I felt awful. I dragged my feet all the way to the front door, ready with a million apologies and excuses, but it turns out I didn’t need any of them. She greeted me with a huge smile and a hug, then took my Pyrex bowl of soup and warmed it up, no questions asked. I felt very loved and supported, and we had an awesome evening together.

She was the kind of friend I needed when I was at a low point with this challenge. I’ve really appreciated all the love and support I’ve received through this blog and other avenues of communication, too. It’s been quite an experience so far, and the friendship that has surrounded me has been incredible. Thank you. šŸ™‚

Day 13 Progress Report

Breakfast: Reeseā€™s Peanut Butter CupĀ Smoothie (almond butter, almond milk, banana, plain Greek yogurt), black coffee.

Snack: Banana pear oatmeal cookie.

Lunch: Open-faced chicken and veggie hummus sandwich (grilled chicken seasoned with garlic powder and red pepper, cucumber, tomato, onions, red pepper hummus, fruit & nut whole wheat bread), pickles on the side.

IMG_2540
chicken sandwich with hummus and veggies

Snack: Almonds, walnuts, and pistachios. Banana pancakes (banana, 2 eggs, cinnamon).

Dinner: Leftover minestrone soup, salad with strawberries and homemadeĀ vinaigrette (olive oil and apple cider vinegar).

Snack: Dehydrated apples.

Author:

Christ follower. Wife. Mama.

2 thoughts on “Day 13: Friends

  1. Wow, this is so good to hear how you’ve got such a great community! Thanks to your postings about no sugar, I’ve noticeably reduced mine. I haven’t been able to convince myself to go full out yet, but hopefully sometime soon I can! I’m working on it… Keep on going!

Leave a Reply

