Posted in Crossfit, Exercise, Food & Drink, Sugar Smackdown

Day 12: Fish Are Underrated

I don’t get the chance to eat salmon very often because: (1) I don’t live in Alaska anymore, where the salmon roam free, and (2) Jerod isn’t a fan of fish, so chicken or ground turkey are usually our default main course dinner options. However, for the purpose of the sugar smackdown I added salmon and tilapia to my arsenal, because it was a pretty great reason to splurge on some delish fish (see what I did there).

Anyway, dumb rhymes aside, fish are severely underrated. They can be prepared so many different ways, have a ton of health benefits, and can be paired with almost any side dish. Salad, rice, and vegetables are all fantastic partners for fish, and you’re guaranteed to get a well-rounded meal (if you don’t drown everything in sauce, as I am wont to do). 🙂

I had to make a quick dinner before Upward basketball practice tonight, so I dressed up a salmon filet with fresh tabouli, sprinkled it with feta, and baked it at 350 degrees for 30 minutes. Broccoli, cauliflower, and carrots served as the side dish. Pretty simple and quick, but completely satisfying.

A friend asked me after Bible study tonight if I’ve lost my sweet tooth yet. While I’d like to say I have, I’m still craving chocolate-covered pomegranates. And dried fruit. And barbecue sauce. So it seems that my affinity for sugar is still present. 🙂 I am wondering how I’m going to react to sugar after this challenge is over, though. It will definitely be interesting.

Day 12 Progress Report

Breakfast: Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup Smoothie (almond butter, almond milk, banana, plain Greek yogurt), banana pear oatmeal cookie, black coffee.

Lunch: Stuffed bell pepper (leftover from last night), rice crackers with red pepper hummus.

Snack: Banana pear oatmeal cookie, banana ice cream (frozen banana blended with 1 teaspoon cocoa powder).

The oatmeal cookies are seriously addicting, especially when warm.

Dinner: Baked salmon filet topped with tabouli and feta. Broccoli, cauliflower, and carrots on the side.

Author:

Christ follower. Wife. Mama.

2 thoughts on “Day 12: Fish Are Underrated

Leave a Reply

