Posted in Crossfit, Exercise, Food & Drink, Sugar Smackdown, {Project Recipe}

Day 10: Pancake Sunday

I learned from experience today: Don’t go to a church potluck if you’re doing a sugar smackdown. Just … don’t do it, especially on an empty stomach. My church served shredded chicken barbecue, beans, and coleslaw after the service, and it about killed me. It smelled so awesome (huge dibs to whoever was behind that BBQ genius), and I had to settle for carrots. But, it was OK in the end, because I found a silver lining in …

PANCAKE SUNDAY!

I’ve been craving pancakes for days. Ever since National Pancake Day on Day 5, really. And while the sweet potato latkes really hit the spot, it was time to try something new, especially after the barbecue torture episode. I found a recipe for Greek yogurt pancakes by Everyday Belle, and they seemed too simple not to try.

These have to be the most perfect pancakes I’ve ever made. The recipe calls for four ingredients, and the end result is perfectly cooked and fluffy. I probably won’t ever buy Bisquick again. I also threw some fresh blueberries onto the cakes while they were cooking, which added a nice burst of flavor.

Greek Yogurt Pancakes

Ingredients

6 oz. plain Greek yogurt

1 egg

1/2 cup whole wheat flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

Splash of almond milk

blueberries (optional)

Directions

Combine all ingredients and mix until smooth. Pour small amounts (should make about 9 pancakes) onto griddle heated to 350 degrees. Flip when the cakes start to bubble on top. Cook until golden brown on both sides. Tip: In lieu of syrup, I spread almond butter on top. SO YUMMY.

Day 10 Progress Report

Breakfast: Smoothie (almond butter, almond milk, banana, plain Greek yogurt).

This is the Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup one I had a few days ago. I think I’m addicted.

Lunch: Carrots, homemade salsa (avocado, tomato, hot chili peppers) with rice crackers, pesto chicken with walnuts.

I was so desperate for food, I just about grabbed the first things I saw in my fridge. This was the result.

Dinner: Blueberry Greek yogurt pancakes, spinach and sharp cheddar omelet, apple slices.

The omelet was a great complement to the pancakes. My tummy was satisfied today. 🙂

Author:

Christ follower. Wife. Mama.

3 thoughts on “Day 10: Pancake Sunday

    1. Thanks! 🙂 I can really tell it’s making a difference when I work out. I don’t feel as weighed down and I have more energy. It would definitely jive well with the insanity workouts (from what I’ve heard, anyway). 🙂 Those sound intense!

Leave a Reply

