Posted in Crossfit, Exercise, Food & Drink, Sugar Smackdown, Super Brief Fridays

Day 8: Taco Friday

Tonight was Taco Friday at our friends’ house (I’m calling it that because we just so happened to have ingredients for tacos, so we were like, what the heck, let’s just have tacos), and it was the first night this month I’ve felt normal, in a food sense. I didn’t have to make up a recipe to fit my sugarless regimen. I didn’t have to make a sugarless meal and watch Jerod and my friends enjoy something else. As much as I’ve enjoyed coming up with new ideas this month, I enjoyed Taco Friday. πŸ™‚

I got to enjoy a virgin margarita, too! We made a fruit slushie mix with lemon juice, pineapple, strawberries, and ice, then I poured myself a glass before everyone else got tequila. The slushie was super refreshing, and just sour enough to make me almost not miss the tequila. Almost. πŸ™‚

The first day without dried fruit wasn’t too bad. I found a great tutorial on how to dehydrate apples in the oven (even though I ended up snacking on the apples before they became completely crispy). I also found a box of dehydrated apples at Costco that I’m planning to stretch out through the rest of the month. I get way too excited about stuff like this.

wO9c2vdPvxS8KazQt4Bu7XgWUJV2crgrYFaYKof-H6U
Dehydrated apples with cinnamon

Today’s recipe was a huge success, not only because I enjoyed it, but because my 6-year-old nanny kiddo liked it, too. He usually doesn’t like the food I experimentally make, so when I offered him a zucchini bite, I was surprised when he responded in the affirmative. Points for me!

These zucchini cups (pictured) from The Curious Country Cook taste almost like tater tots. For serious. I actually used a cucumber because I didn’t have any zucchini, but I couldn’t tell a difference. The bites are a perfect snack or side dish for … well, I’m enamored with them, so I’m going to go ahead and say they go with everything. πŸ™‚

Zucchini Bites

Ingredients

1 cup zucchini, grated

1 egg

1/4 onion, diced

1/4 cup cheese (I used parmesan)

1/4 cup cornmeal

salt and pepper to taste

red pepper flakes (optional)

Directions

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Grease a mini-muffin tin and set aside.

Grate zucchini and squeeze out excess water with paper towels.

In a large mixing bowl, mix together all ingredients, except red pepper flakes.

Fill muffin cups to the brim. Sprinkle red pepper flakes on top.

Bake for 20-30 minutes or until tops are brown and start to set.

Day 8 Progress Report

Breakfast – Smoothie (strawberries, blueberries, almond butter, plain Greek yogurt, almond milk), leftover sweet potato latkes, black coffee.

Lunch – Avocado chicken salad with tomato on fruit & nut whole wheat bread. Zucchini cups on the side.

Snack – Soft-boiled egg, dehydrated apples..

Dinner – Taco salad (spinach, fresh salsa, avocado, tomato, feta, shredded sugarless corn tortillas, beef, rice, onions), virgin fruit margarita.

Author:

Christ follower. Wife. Mama.

Leave a Reply

