Posted in Crossfit, Exercise, Food & Drink, Sugar Smackdown, {Project Recipe}

Day 6: I Cheated

Four words: cocoa banana ice cream. Oh my heavens, this stuff blew my mind. Joanna, a Farmgirlfit gal who is also doing the challenge, shared the recipe she found from Vegie Head. All you have to do is blend a frozen banana and 1 teaspoon unsweetened cocoa powder together (my blender wasn’t cooperating, so I mashed mine together with a fork). It was so yummy, I felt like I was cheating on the challenge (for the record, this snack was totally legal). But that’s the cool thing that’s come out of the woodwork about this sugar smackdown: I discover new food combinations I actually enjoy, and they don’t include sugar! It’s a win-win.

Sugarless eating is starting to become a mindset for me now. It’s no longer an unbeatable goal; it’s something I mentally choose to do, and my body follows suit. Not to be misunderstood, it’s still tough. I still reach for the chocolate-covered pomegranates out of habit when I come home from work and crave a snack. But leaving the pantry to find something better to eat is getting easier.

For dinner, I semi-invented avocado chicken salad. The original recipe I found on Pinterest was actually for avocado egg salad (which I still plan to try this month), but I figured if it works for eggs, why couldn’t it work for chicken?

Avocado Chicken Salad

Ingredients 

Cooked chicken breast

1 avocado

Dried minced onion, salt, and pepper to taste

Directions

Shred the chicken breast to your desired consistency. In a medium mixing bowl, mash avocado with a fork until smooth. Mix in chicken and season with onion, salt, and pepper. Serve on toasted sesame rice crackers.

It’s ridiculously simple. And delicious. And filling. And the cool thing is avocados are so dang good for you. There is nothing about this recipe that wastes your time or calories. Try it today! *fake infomercial smile*

Day 4 Progress Report

Breakfast – Leftover sweet potato latkes, homemade applesauce, black coffee.

Lunch – Chicken breast seasoned with curry, garlic powder, and dried minced onion, served over long grain brown rice. Carrots and onions on the side.

Snack – cocoa banana ice cream, dried fruit and nut mix (almonds, cashews, dried mangoes, dried pineapple, dried blueberries and cranberries).

Dinner – avocado chicken salad on toasted sesame rice crackers.

Author:

Christ follower. Wife. Mama.

4 thoughts on “Day 6: I Cheated

  1. Get a blender!!! Banana ice cream is SOOOO good! Once you blend it it even becomes creamy and the consistency of icecream. Sometimes I add a little peanut butter…and make peanut butter ice cream.

      1. You may try adding a small amount of milk as well. Some of my frozen bananas come out a little dry. OOH! Almond butter. I miss that stuff…and Almond milk! Those items are hard to find here in SK. Peanut butter is 7 dollars for a small jar! It’s a splurge even getting that.

      2. That’s a good idea! I wasn’t sure if that would work, since the original recipe didn’t call for it, but now I’m thinking it sounds pretty delicious. 🙂 I’ll have to send you an almond care package!

Leave a Reply

