Posted in Crossfit, Exercise, Food & Drink, Sugar Smackdown, {Project Recipe}

Day 4: Meatloaf PWNed

Ever heard of avocado meatloaf?

Let me just tell you: It’s fantastic. And totally free of sugar. I’m so excited to share this concoction because I created a recipe that actually tastes good! And it was a huge encouragement that I made something so yummy that didn’t need a sugar crutch.

My friend Rachel found the original meatloaf recipe in the Better Home & Gardens cookbook, and I heavily modified it to fit the sugar smackdown guidelines. I served it to a couple of my friends who have a history of disliking meatloaf, and they both asked for seconds. The entire pan was gone in less than 30 minutes. I feel ridiculously accomplished. 🙂

Instead of topping the meatloaf with a sauce-based glaze, I used fresh salsa. It was far superior, IMHO. For the side dish, I served a spinach salad with homemade berry vinaigrette (recipe below in my progress report).

Avocado Meatloaf

Ingredients

1/2 cup oats

1/2 cup finely chopped fresh mushrooms

1 shredded carrot (medium)

1 finely chopped onion (small)

1 avocado, peeled and pitted

3 tablespoons plain Greek yogurt

3 cloves garlic

1 teaspoon celery seed

1 teaspoon mild chili powder

2 pounds ground turkey

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a large pan, warm about a tablespoon of olive oil.

Add everything except the turkey and stir until everything is lightly sauteed and mixed together.

Remove vegetable mix from heat and combine with ground turkey in a large bowl. Mix until well combined.

Press mixture into a 9×5-inch loaf pan.

Bake meatloaf for 75 to 90 minutes, or until internal temperature reaches 160 degrees.

 

Day 4 Progress Report

Breakfast – Smoothie (plain Greek yogurt, banana, strawberries, blueberries, almond milk), black coffee.

Felt full until lunchtime. Black coffee doesn’t make me wince anymore. I’m enjoying the flavor a lot more.

Lunch – Chicken flavored with paprika, basil, and garlic. Served over quinoa/brown rice mix. Carrots, broccoli, and cauliflower on the side.

Spices are definitely my friend. I’m becoming a big fan of paprika.

Snack – Dried fruit and nut mix (almonds, cashews, dried cranberries and blueberries).

Dinner – Avocado meatloaf topped with fresh salsa, spinach salad with berry vinaigrette (handful of blueberries and strawberries blended with 1 cup of apple cider vinegar and 1/4 cup olive oil).

Antioxidants ahoy!

Snack – air-popped popcorn, 2 cuties.

Author:

Christ follower. Wife. Mama.

6 thoughts on “Day 4: Meatloaf PWNed

  1. That sounds tremendous and I am sure that is something my husband would eat. I am going to try that.!! Thanks for sharing. I love meatloaf. Love, Char.

    Date: Tue, 5 Feb 2013 06:40:09 +0000 To: cebarney@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

