Posted in Crossfit, Exercise, Food & Drink, Sugar Smackdown

Day 3: Blair is My Hero

I’m starting to get a hang of this sugar smackdown. The only time I got a headache today was when I didn’t drink enough water, which I was quick to remedy. One of the gals from my gym, Jeni, gave me some great encouragement yesterday:

The headache and crabbiness will go away … Days 2 and 3 are tough but it DOES go away. Always have good options handy … don’t let yourself get hungry. Stay tough lady!

I made sure to eat pretty full meals and tried not to snack as much. Which was impressive, IMHO, because it was Super Bowl Sunday, and as everyone knows, is the day to snack with abandon.

My friend Blair was a total sweetheart and brought over spring rolls devoid of sugar for our Super Bowl get-together. They were so fresh and delicious … I was best friends with the spring roll plate for the rest of the afternoon. The rolls were rice wrappers filled with rice noodles, carrots, cabbage, lettuce, broccoli, chicken, avocado,  and fresh ginger. SO NOMMY. I’ll probably have dreams about them tonight. Blair, you are my Super Bowl Sunday hero. 🙂

Day 3 Progress Report

Breakfast: Apple, black coffee.

As I suspected, I’m starting to enjoy black coffee. Even without milk. I’m turning into a monster.

Snack: Soy nut mix (soybeans, dried cranberries, almonds, pumpkin seeds).

Lunch: chicken, broccoli, carrots, and cauliflower stir-fried in pesto.

Pesto is my new best friend. It’s very flavorful and enhanced the chicken and veggies.

Super Bowl snack: Blair’s Fantastic Spring Rolls (rice wrapper, rice noodles, carrots, cabbage, lettuce, broccoli, chicken, avocado, fresh ginger).

Dinner: Tilapia breast, carrots, broccoli, and cauliflower served over brown rice/quinoa mix. Two cuties on the side.

Snack: Dried coconut, dried mango.

Author:

Christ follower. Wife. Mama.

5 thoughts on “Day 3: Blair is My Hero

  1. Yay! Hero status. Finally. I can die now. I’m going to do a try #2 on the spring rolls today but this time quick cook the carrot/broccoli mix. It was too tough for my taste. I’m also going to put little shrimpies in there instead of the chicken mostly cause I’m out of chicken and I have little frozen salad shrimp in the freezer with no where to go. So, If they’re any good, I’ll bring you some tonight.

    Thanks for having us over for the superbowl. It was lots of fun. kind of like watching a funny sitcom …. the jon-jerod-tobin comic relief hour. very good.

  2. The spring rolls also had cabbage, lettuce and broccoli, just fyi.

    I’m wondering how you’re getting the calories you need to stay healthy. An apple for breakfast? Are you on a starvation diet AND a no-sugar diet? Or is it just that Sunday mornings don’t leave time for food prep? I just don’t want you to fade away on us!

    J Blycker

    1. Thanks, I forgot about those ingredients!

      I’ve never been much of a breakfast person, so that’s why my breakfasts have been pretty light. On Sundays especially, since we always seem to be running behind. :/

Leave a Reply

