Posted in Crossfit, Exercise, Food & Drink, Sugar Smackdown

Day 2: Costco Ruined My Day

I’m officially going through sugar withdrawals.

I expected this, really. I knew it wasn’t going to be easy, but the headaches, irritability, and fatigue I experienced today showed me how dependent my body has become on sugar. It also made me aware of how well I need to eat during meals. If I’m snacking all day on small things, that isn’t going to make me feel full. Drinking water has become more imperative (than usual), too. It’s all in the details.

The biggest challenge today was going to Costco to get sugar-absent food. Let it be known, far and near: I adore Costco. When I want to relax, I shop in bulk. My very favorite thing about the store is the sample stations they have throughout the store. You can almost build a full meal out of the variety of samples on little toothpicks.

However, I knew most of the samples would contain sugar. So I made a pact with myself prior to entering the store: I will avoid all samples and focus on grocery shopping.

Of course, today of all days, there was a huge sample expo by the frozen food section: gourmet cheeses and sausages. Two of my favorite things. I had to walk past that area 3 times and be assaulted by the smells of deliciousness. It was torture, as if Costco knew the challenge I was up against and decided to raise the stakes.

An hour later, I emerged victorious with fish, fruit, vegetables, and other nom-worthy food fit for tackling the sugar smackdown. I still love Costco, but I don’t think I’ll be going back until March. Also, if anyone saw the poppyseed muffins in my shopping cart, those are 100% for Jerod. 🙂

Day 2 Progress Report

Breakfast: Banana, dried fruit and nut mix (almonds, cashews, dried coconut, dried mango, dried cranberries and blueberries), coffee with almond milk.

I ate after completing the 9:30 a.m. workout at Farmgirlfit. I did my first BMI check-in to track my physical progress for the sugar smackdown challenge.

Lunch: Guacamole and rice crackers, strawberry smoothie (plain Greek yogurt, banana, strawberries, almond milk).

Feeling pretty lightheaded and weak. Need to get challenge-appropriate groceries pronto.

Dinner: Mediterranean Tabouli Salad on rice crackers, edamame, apple, carrots.

Feeling much better. Dinner filled me up, and the lingering headache was assuaged by drinking a ton of water.

Snack: Two cuties.

Author:

Christ follower. Wife. Mama.

Leave a Reply

