Posted in Crossfit, Exercise, Food & Drink, Sugar Smackdown

Day 1: Sugar Shun

The blog is taking a bit of a turn for the healthy during the month of February. Me and the Farmgirlfit gals are challenging ourselves to go without sugar — the real stuff, the fake stuff, all of it — for an entire month. Ironically, the only other month besides October that dedicates itself to seeing chocolate sales soar through the roof. But it’s also the shortest month, so that makes this challenge a little more doable. 🙂

Farmgirlfit’s resident health guru, Donell, wrote a post over on the Farmgirlstrong blog explaining the idea behind this 28-day sugar shun. Head over there, read it, and come right back. 🙂

I will be posting my progress here daily, both for accountability and to contribute to the Farmgirlfit team effort. My progress will include the foods I eat, recipes that I’ve come up with out of desperation creativity, and any random thoughts I’ve had throughout the day (as per usual for this blog). All of my progress reports, as well as the rules for this challenge, can be found under the Sugar Smackdown tab at the top of the blog.

So here it is: Day 1 progress report.

Breakfast: Banana, apple, coffee with milk. 

Coffee is the biggest challenge this morning, since I usually load mine up with sweetener (I’ll take my coffee white with an extra helping of sugar plz). Just watch me be a black coffee addict by the end of this month.

Snack: Long grain brown rice seasoned with curry and garlic. Air-popped popcorn coated with unsweetened cocoa.

OK, it’s only 10 a.m. and I’m already starting to feel desperate. I didn’t even wait for the rice to cook all the way, I just snarfed it down as soon as it became chewable. Maybe lunch will be better.

Lunch (pictured): Chicken breast marinated in lemon juice and seasoned with basil and lemon seasoning. Served on top of long grain brown rice, chopped onion, carrots, and garlic.

My second attempt at the rice was much more successful. I’m drinking water like it’s going out of style, and participating in dance parties with my 2-year-old nanny kiddo to avoid lusting after the Doritos in the pantry. This lunch actually filled me up, though.

Snack: cutie (little tangerine), cheese stick, dried fruit and nut mix (almonds, cashews, walnuts, dried coconut, dried mangos, dried cranberries and blueberries), black coffee.

Dinner: Chicken breast with fiesta blend spices and basil olive oil on top of quinoa/brown rice blend. Guacamole and rice crackers on the side.

I think chicken and brown rice did the trick for filling me up today. The hardest part was not snacking when I was bored. Tomorrow I’m going to go to the store to find some healthy snack alternatives.

Author:

Christ follower. Wife. Mama.

2 thoughts on “Day 1: Sugar Shun

Leave a Reply

