Posted in Crossfit, Exercise

WOD Warrior

Last October, I signed up to compete in the WOD Warrior, a professional crossfit competition for athletes in Spokane. The competition wasn’t until yesterday, but I registered early because I wanted to give myself a challenge and also make sure I wouldn’t let myself back out. The registration fee was $45 and nonrefundable, and for a frugal soul like me, I wasn’t going to pay that kind of money and then wimp out.

I’ve been doing crossfit training for more than a year (my 1-year anniversary with Farmgirlfit was in November), but since this was my first public competition, my only goal was to finish and to have fun. As Jan. 13 loomed, however, I started to get nervous. Lots of “what-ifs” started flying around in my head, so the last few days of preparation before the competition were almost equally mental as well as physical.Β 

The challenge factor with WOD Warrior is that it was made up of four workouts (WOD stands for Workout Of the Day). Normally, I complete two workouts a week. So finishing four workouts in a time span of 3 1/2 hours felt like a huge feat. Plus, the specific workouts weren’t released until a couple days before the event, so I had to be ready for anything.

The first workout was a 20-minute AMRAP (as many reps as possible) of a 300-meter row, 35-pound kettlebell swing, and jumping ring pull-ups. According to WOD Warrior rules, “The kettlebell movement and pull-ups will have ascending reps starting at 6 reps each in round 1. Six reps will be added for each movement for each additional round in the progression.” This was KILLER. The row completely winded me, but I couldn’t stop because I was racing the clock. However, I made it through 4 complete rounds of this workout in 20 minutes, plus a 300-meter row, 30 kettlebell swings, and 24 pull-ups (just 6 pull-ups away from having a complete 5th round). I placed 21st in this category.

The second workout was a triple sprint — suicide sprint, riding a stationary bike for 50 calories, another suicide sprint, and max wall ball reps, all in 8 minutes. The only thing that counted toward your score was how many wall ball repetitions you completed. I completed 9 wall balls and got 14th place.

The third workout I’m still feeling the effects of this morning — the deadlift/burpee couplet. I had to complete 5 rounds of five 145-pound deadlifts and 12 burpees in 8 minutes. This was the event I didn’t think I’d be able to complete, because the deadlift was heavier than I was expecting. Surprisingly, this ended up being my best event. I finished the workout in 6 minutes and 50 seconds and got 10th place. My lower back is very, very sore from lifting, and I smacked my chin on the ground after getting over-enthusiastic about completing a burpee, but I’m getting a massage after work today (Thanks for the Christmas present, Mom and Dad!), so hopefully that’ll work out the kinks.

The fourth workout was, without question, the easiest — the double yoke carry. I’ve never seen or used a yoke in my life, but it looks like this. I had to carry 185 pounds 100 feet (50 feet down and back) in less than 60 seconds. It felt like I took forever, but my official time was 34 seconds, so I placed 18th.

Overall, I placed 18th out of 24 women in the novice division. I checked the results a little early in the afternoon, when I was in 15th place, and got so excited I posted all over Facebook. However, that score changed when all the scores came in, so I dropped to 18th place. But still, it’s not last place, so I’m happy. πŸ™‚ I know I did my best and held absolutely nothing back, so that’s the high I’m riding on this morning.

I had a bunch of family and friends who came to the event, and the support I felt while competing was overwhelming, in a positive way. Competing against other women in a public setting was an adrenaline rush, too, so I had about a billion endorphins to reckon with once the competition was over. πŸ™‚ Thanks to everyone who cheered me on and supported me yesterday, either in person, on Facebook, or via text messages. I couldn’t have become a WOD Warrior without you!

If they put this competition on next year, I can’t wait to participate again. Who knows, maybe it’s just the next step to the Reebok Crossfit Games. πŸ™‚

Jerod took photos of the event and I put them in an albumΒ here. Apologies in advance about the blurriness of most of them; I was moving too fast for my own good, I guess. πŸ™‚

Author:

Christ follower. Wife. Mama.

9 thoughts on “WOD Warrior

  1. Wow Amanda thanks for your post. You are so dedicated and fit. You should be so proud of yourself. I think your desire to show up and just do your best is the prize. I admire your willingness to put yourself out there. Great job!!

  2. Way to go “Coach” Amanda!!! You are an ispiration to the kids you coach and to those around you. Thanks for sharing your story! I imagine you will still be sore at Tuesday’s basketball practice πŸ™‚
    Philippians 4:13 this passage sums up your hard work!
    ~Michelle~ (aka, Joshua’s mom)

Leave a Reply

