Posted in Jerod, Marriage, Super Brief Fridays

Super Brief Friday: Relationship Bullets

The title may have been a little misleading. I meant bullet points. Either way, it got you here, right? 🙂 Anyway, this SBF is about relationships! A lot of things have caused me to dwell on this topic this week, so I thought I’d chronicle a few.

  • Weekend to Remember. Jerod and I are going to the Family Life Marriage Conference this weekend for the first time! Jerod says he’s looking forward to the session called “How to fix her when she tries to fix me.” *cricket cricket* ANYway, I haven’t heard one bad thing about the conference, so I’m excited to see what new things we can learn about marriage and each other. I haven’t even been yet and I highly recommend it, especially for us young marrieds.
  • Marriage tribute. My sisters, Sarah and Mary Ann, are hipsters to the core and I love them to death. Recently, they’ve been creating acoustic covers of popular songs together. Their latest cover was “Good Riddance” by Green Day, and they dedicated it to Jerod and me. You can watch the ridiculousness here.
  • People first, gender second. I found an article via Twitter that completely blew my mind. It was titled “The Hardest, Greatest Thing I’ve Learned in Marriage,” by a gal named Lauren, who also runs Good Women Project. (Side note: This site is a must-follow for any and all females. So good.) Her premise: “My husband is first a person, second a man.” The post just gets more epic from there. If you read anything today, make it this and let me know what you think. I felt so challenged and liberated because Lauren finally put into words something I’ve been struggling to voice for a while.
  • You are an example, even in the little things. I am a nanny by day, and I take care of a 2-year-old girl and a 5-year-old boy. Sometimes, Jerod will call me while I’m taking care of them, and we’ve made it a point to say “I love you” when we finish our conversations. A couple evenings ago, the kids’ mom noticed her 2-year-old walking around the living room, talking on her plastic cell phone. The conversation was something like, “Hi Jerod! Yes … ok … ok … ok. Love you. Bye.” Her mom asked her if she was pretending to be me, and she said yes. I guess she actually had been listening to me when I thought she was distracted by TV or her baby dolls. The story made me smile, but it also challenged me to continue practicing what a good relationship should look like, even when I think no one is watching. I won’t always see the end result, but it will always pay off.
Author:

Christ follower. Wife. Mama.

3 thoughts on “Super Brief Friday: Relationship Bullets

Leave a Reply

