Posted in Food & Drink, {Project Recipe}

{Project Recipe} Saturday Morning Spicy Pumpkin Pancakes

It’s FINALLY September, and I’m so ready for fall to begin. Sweaters, boots, crackly leaves, and tea in the park are all things that remind me of my second-favorite season (winter takes the cake for me). One of the smells I associate with fall is spiced pumpkin (Pumpkin spiced latte, anyone? From your favorite local coffee shop, of course), and when I found a can of pumpkin puree in my pantry, I knew I needed to incorporate it in Saturday morning breakfast.

I decided to make this Betty Crocker recipe for spicy pumpkin pancakes. I’ve also pinned the recipe on my Delicious Breakfast Pinterest board. The end result was a fluffy, light pancake that wasn’t doughy in the middle (my personal pancake process nemesis). The prep time was pretty quick, too (from start to finish it took about 1/2 hour), so this is great for hungry kiddos or husbands who aren’t willing to wait very long for breakfast. I can guarantee these will be a family favorite, so always have a can of pumpkin puree handy.

Recommendation: Make the pancakes the main course and whip up some scrambled eggs and hash browns as side dishes. Eat this around 11 a.m., and you’ll be full and satisfied until dinnertime. 🙂

Spicy Pumpkin Pancakes

Ingredients

2 1/3 cups Bisquick mix

1/3 cup canned pumpkin puree

1 1/4 cups milk (I used almond milk)

1/4 cup vegetable oil

2 tablespoons sugar

1 teaspoon pumpkin spice (or substitute 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon, 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg, and 1/4 teaspoon ginger)

2 eggs

Directions

Heat pancake griddle to 375 degrees and spray with cooking spray.

Mix all ingredients in a large bowl until smooth. Use 1/4 measuring cup to ladle pancake mix onto the griddle.

Cook until the edges are dry, then flip. Continue to cook until both sides are golden brown. Serve immediately.

Bonus: Serve with homemade maple syrup! Mix 1 cup brown sugar, 1 cup water, and 1 tablespoon of vanilla in a saucepan on medium heat. Stir continuously until mixture starts to boil. Lower heat and keep syrup at a simmer until ready to serve.

Author:

Christ follower. Wife. Mama.

Leave a Reply

