Posted in Christmas letter, Holidays, Personal Musings

Merry Christmas from me!

Welcome to my second annual solo Christmas letter! I promise to keep it brief, since Christmas was so two days ago and if you are dedicating time to reading this post you probably already know most of the following. But since you’re here, check out what happened to me in 2011!

Cross-country move. I wrote last year’s Christmas letter when I was living in Virginia, so the first notable change is that I moved across the country. Again. But this time it was from east to west! I’m writing this year’s letter in Spokane, Wash., and I am finally here to stay. The move was primarily spurred by …

Engagement. Jerod Jarvis, my long-time boyfriend, flew to Virginia to ask me to marry him on May 25. You can read about the epicness here. Since we were sick of having a long-distance relationship, and wanted to be in the same city to prepare for our future together, I said goodbye to my amazing friends, job, and Lynchburg. This was a move based completely on faith, because I still needed …

A new job. Newspaper jobs — or any job in journalism, really — are severely hard to come by in Spokane. I had an incredible job as a copy editor in Lynchburg that was really hard to leave behind, so Jerod and I prayed that God would provide a similar job for me in Spokane. The day I moved back, I interviewed at the Journal of Business, and within three hours they offered me the news assistant position. I’m doing a lot of writing at the Journal of Business, and I have also freelanced for publications such as Rocky Mountain Media Group and Breathe Magazine.

A new home. God provided a great opportunity for me to sublet a room from Aaron and Esther Daugherty, a couple Jerod and I knew from church. Living in an apartment alone sounded expensive and not fun, so renting from the Daughertys was a great independent living alternative. It’s been a blasty-blast living with Aaron and Esther and their 2-year-old son, Malachi.

Ministry opportunities. I really missed being involved in church ministry when I was in Virginia, so when I moved back to Spokane I got involved in three ministries at Berean Bible Church: worship team, college Sunday School/Bible study, and AWANA Cubbies.

  • I sing alto on the worship team about two times a month, and I got to sing with an ensemble for our church’s Christmas Eve service.
  • The college group at Berean has grown exponentially during the past few months, and we started a Monday night Bible study in addition to Sunday School meetings.
  • I was recently named interim director for Berean’s AWANA Cubbies program, after serving as a regular leader since September. I’m looking forward to working with a great leadership team to serve our little group of 3- and 4-year-olds.

God has brought me through a lot this year, and has blessed me beyond my imagination. 2011 has been great, and I can’t wait for 2012! Merry (belated) Christmas and Happy (early) New Year!

It wasn’t so long ago that we ourselves were stupid and stubborn, dupes of sin, ordered every which way by our glands, going around with a chip on our shoulder, hated and hating back. But when God, our kind and loving Savior God, stepped in, he saved us from all that. It was all his doing; we had nothing to do with it. He gave us a good bath, and we came out of it new people, washed inside and out by the Holy Spirit. Our Savior Jesus poured out new life so generously. God’s gift has restored our relationship with him and given us back our lives. And there’s more life to come—an eternity of life! You can count on this. – Titus 3:4-7 (The Message)

Author:

Christ follower. Wife. Mama.

2 thoughts on “Merry Christmas from me!

Leave a Reply

