Posted in Engagement, Jerod, Personal Musings, Uncategorized, Wedding

A fine proposal and a new job

Well … I’m back.

I’m not Sam Gamgee, but the reference seems appropriate. After 5 years on the East coast, getting an undergraduate degree and getting some job experience at the News & Advance, life has taken a definite turn for the even better.

On May 25, my best friend, Jerod Jarvis, asked me to marry him. We’ve been through a lot together … to the point where I inadvertently ruined 2 proposal plans before he was able to execute the third one. He flew out to visit me for a few days in Virginia, and with the element of surprise on his side, got down on one knee outside Roanoke Regional Airport.

It was definitely a movie moment … he’d asked me to wear a dress when I came out to pick him up, which I didn’t think much of until I saw him in his suit jacket, a white polo, jeans and his ever-present fedora. He looked pensive when I pulled up, and when I got out of the car and went to give him a hug, he gently pushed me away, knelt down and asked me if I would do him the honor of being his wife. When I said yes, he pulled a ring out of his pocket and put it on my finger. We hugged it out until one of the bystanders leaned in and said, “I don’t mean to ruin the moment, but congratulations!” as a red Mustang drove by and honked. I definitely wasn’t expecting him to propose right then, but it couldn’t have been more perfect. πŸ™‚

On the same day, I got a call from the editor at Spokane Journal of Business, who asked if we could set up an interview for a news assistant position. I’d been looking for a chance to move back to Spokane this summer, and the only hold-up was getting a job, and this seemed like a great opportunity. After putting in my two-weeks notice at the News & Advance, I packed up and moved back to Spokane on June 2. The next day, I went in to the Journal for my interview, and was offered the job three hours later.

To say I was — and am — excited about how things have worked out would be a huge understatement. In a time that was riddled with uncertainty, God came through and showed us Β He is in control.

As far as wedding stuff goes, please check out Jerod’s and my wedding website. We’ll be constantly updating it with new information, so check back often. πŸ™‚

(disclaimer on the photo: we took it on my computer, and it auto-flipped. So the ring is actually on my left hand. We’re not engagement n00bs.)

Author:

Christ follower. Wife. Mama.

4 thoughts on “A fine proposal and a new job

Leave a Reply

