Posted in Current Events, Personal Musings

Three months in

Almost three months have flown by since I moved to Lynchburg. Summer is almost gone, school is almost here … and it’s really weird to think I won’t be going back. This will be the first time in 18 years that I won’t be cracking the books and pursuing a degree. I’m a full-fledged “young professional” (whatever that means …), a degree under my belt and a 3-12 to look forward to 5 days a week (as opposed to the typical 9-5 … I love the copy editing life). πŸ™‚

Quick update, I suppose … I work from 3 p.m. to 12 a.m. most nights, my weekends are Wednesday and Thursday, and I lay out pages for the Lynchburg and Danville pages most nights. On Tuesdays I work with a team of three other girls to lay out five different weekly papers for the towns that aren’t big enough to warrant a daily paper.

I’ve started to get closer with some of my other co-workers, too, which is cool.Β Beth, who sits across from me, is from Texas, and always has wint-o-green mints and clorox wipes on hand when our desks start to generate dust monsters. Marissa sits behind me, and loves to tell stories about crazy ex-roommates, co-workers and bosses. She’s known a LOT of crazy people. πŸ™‚ Our corner of the office is always laughing about something, so as if my job wasn’t cool enough, I get to share it with super awesome people. πŸ™‚

When I started out here, my biggest concern was finding a roommate. Not only was the rent a beast to pay by myself, I also didn’t like coming home at midnight to a dark apartment devoid of life. So, after waiting for someone to reply to my Facebook ad, I finally got a reply from Kim. She works at Liberty, we have a bunch of mutual friends, and she’s one of the chillest people I’ve ever met. She moved in July 1, and even though we work opposite schedules, we’ve still found time to hang out and get to know each other. God was really looking out for me, because she’s an amazing person. She has a big heart for the Lord and for missions, and loves talking about Africa. We enjoy the same types of music and television, and I’ve found it really easy to connect with her. She is the biggest blessing of the summer, by far, and I’m loving living with her.

I’m still missing Spokane like crazy … it’s really hard to be away from my family, my friends, and Jerod, especially. I’ve really struggled with why I chose to be here … in Lynchburg, on my own, without the built-in support of a home church, family and friends. I didn’t realize how much an ache my heart would have for the familiar when I made the decision to take a job here. However, God has been teaching me a lot these past few months, especially when I fight loneliness and the mild depression that it can bring if I entertain it too much. I’ve been leaning on Matthew 6:33-34 the past week:

“But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things will be added to you. Therefore do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.”

I’m a natural worrier, so it’s really hard for me to let go of something once I start worrying about it, but these verses have been challenging me to seek God first and let Him have what worries and scares me. I can’t control what tomorrow will bring, but I can control how I respond to it. So even when stuff happens at home, or bills won’t leave me alone, or my car doesn’t kick into gear like it should, I need to trust that God has it under control.Β Otherwise, I’ll just worry myself sick, and then I won’t be able to make it to my 9-3.

So, overall, summer 2010 has been full of new and exciting things. It’s been quite a ride so far. My sister, Sarah, is coming to Liberty for her sophomore year on Tuesday, so I’m really excited we’ll be in the same city. It’ll be nice to have some kinfolk around. πŸ™‚

Here’s some pictures of my new life in Lynchburg. πŸ™‚

my room
my bathroom
Candles on my dining room wall
the kitchen
my closet
the view from the balcony
my car, Sean Connery

Author:

Christ follower. Wife. Mama.

One thought on “Three months in

Leave a Reply

