Posted in Current Events, Personal Musings

Just in case you were wondering where I was …

~ originally posted on Facebook on May 19, 2010 ~

The craziness of graduation has finally passed, so I finally have time to sit down and update you all on what’s going on in my life. A LOT has changed, but God has been with me through it all, so I think I’m gonna be alright. πŸ™‚

I flew from Colorado Springs to Lynchburg on Sunday, May 9, to give myself a week to chill before Liberty’s commencement on Saturday. I also had an interview for a copy editing position at the News & Advance, the local newspaper.

I was offered the position the same day, and spent all Tuesday researching apartments and cars on Craigslist and asking God if moving to Lynchburg was the best decision. This was an extremely hard decision to make, because if I chose to move here, I would be leaving behind all of my family and friends in Washington. I would also be making a huge move across the country (via FedEx, mostly), and I wasn’t sure if I was ready to make that kind of permanent switch alone.

On Tuesday night, however, I decided that taking the job would be the best decision in the long run (getting an actual paycheck, gaining more journalism experience, etc.), so I called the N&A on Tuesday morning to accept the job offer. I will be starting on May 24, and I won’t be alone. My good friend Mandi Sullivan got the job, too, so we will be working together. I’m pretty excited about that. πŸ™‚ Here’s the link to the N&A for more info about the company:http://www2.newsadvance.com/

My family came into town on Thursday (including both sets of grandparents, which was awesome), and my parents tirelessly helped me look for an apartment and a car. They were leaving on Monday, so we only had about 4 days to procure both. Through a series of events that can only be explained by God’s amazing love and grace, we found a two-bedroom apartment at the Gables of Jefferson Commons, which is located in Forest (a town right outside of Lynchburg in Bedford County) and a 2002 silver Hyundai Elantra at a used car lot right down the road from my apartment. My dad and I bought the car 20 minutes before my family had to drive up to Washington, DC, to catch their flight home, so that was something that can only be explained by God’s timing (or sense of humor). πŸ™‚

I moved into my apartment yesterday, and am currently doing loads of errands before I have to start work on Monday. It has been a whirlwind of events over the last four days, and I don’t feel like I’ve had time to sit down and breathe yet. I’m really excited to see what God has in store in the future, though. Oh! And if you want to send me anything (money, care packages, money … you know, the basics), πŸ˜‰ here’s my address:

1076 Gables Dr. #203
Forest, VA 24551

To my east coast/Virginia/Liberty friends: I’m glad I’ll be closer to you all, and I’m looking forward to hanging out with you this summer and beyond.

To my west coast/Washington/Colorado friends and family: I’m missing you guys so, so much, and it has been really hard not to come home after finishing school. I feel torn between feeling excited for this new opportunity, and feeling sad that I won’t be with you as much as I had hoped. My boss at the N&A knows you all live far away, so he said he is very flexible when it comes to taking time off to visit home. I’m praying that the Lord brings us together again sooner than we think. I love you all excessively.

Author:

Christ follower. Wife. Mama.

One thought on “Just in case you were wondering where I was …

Leave a Reply

