Posted in Creative Writing, Personal Musings

What I Want to Be

I recently read one of those chain letter thingamabobbers that had the list of what a girl wants in a guy. And I got to thinking…yeah, that’s great, but what am I willing to give to my future husband? Are we as women willing to sacrifice, just as we want our man to sacrifice for us? So, I made up a list of my own.

What I Want to Be

I want to be the kind of woman my guy can depend on, no matter what.

I want to be the kind of woman who points her man to Jesus in every circumstance.

I want to be the kind of woman who doesn’t criticize her man, even if his interests and tastes differ from mine.

I want to be a safe haven for my man, if he ever has a bad day at work or is just feeling crappy.

I want to continuously lift my man up in prayer, because I know only the Lord’s strength will sustain us.

I want to always respect my man, regardless of whatever I’m feeling at the moment, because I know that he will value it immensely.

I want to always value the things he does for me, big and small, because I know they come from his heart.

I want to be the kind of woman my man feels comfortable watching sports or playing computer games with, knowing that I want to spend my time that way with him.

I want to be the kind of woman who doesn’t drag her man out to the mall and make him carry all my shopping bags (part of the reason this will never happen is because I don’t like shopping, either). 🙂

I want to be a trustworthy secret keeper for my man. Anything he tells me stays with me.

I want to continually immerse myself in the Word, so that I can bless my man with a Christ-like attitude and love.

I want to allow my man to be the head of our household, and fulfill his role of provider and protector for our family.

I want to serve my man with no selfish thought as to how it will benefit me later.

I want to back my man up and always support him, even if everyone else is long gone.

I want to always affirm my man, even when he isn’t present.

I want to strive to become a Proverbs 31 woman.

I want to unconditionally respect and love my man until death do us part.

Author:

Christ follower. Wife. Mama.

Leave a Reply

