Amanda Jarvis

And in this moment, I swear we are infinite.

My dog wants my parfait


Sugar Freedom Week 1, Day 6

I got a whole bunch of gala apples at Costco during my last shopping trip (which was ill-timed, as it was the day before the Super Bowl and everyone and their mom was crowding the wings and beer aisles), and since the temperature was closing in on single digits, I wanted to use them to make  something warm and tasty. Like apple pie.

Yesterday, it was cake. Today, it’s pie. Good grief.

Oh, BY THE WAY, it majorly snowed in Tri-Cities today! And when I say major, I mean major for this area, which is like 2 inches. But this is a huge deal, because this is the first snow we’ve gotten all year. And for an Alaskan-grown girl like me, that is just torture. I need snow. (And I’m sure everyone on the East Coast right now is saying, “HERE! TAKE OURS!”)

photo_1

Well, I’m happy about it.

Anyway, back to craving pie. Clearly, since I’m doing the Sugar Freedom challenge, I can’t just sit down and eat a whole one. So I started looking for alternatives on Pinterest, and I found a recipe for Apple Crisp Yogurt Parfait by The Seasoned Mom.

I mean, talk about a healthy apple pie substitute that melts in your mouth. Oh my goodness. Even Tibbers knew a good thing when she saw one.

photo

Stop ogling my food, dog.

Healthy Apple Crisp Yogurt Parfait

Ingredients

4 ounces plain Greek yogurt 

Splash of vanilla extract

Sprinkle of cinnamon

1 apple, diced

2 tablespoons granola (or other crunchy cereal) 

2 tablespoons almonds (finely chopped) 

2 tablespoons finely chopped dried fruit (optional)

Directions

Mix yogurt, vanilla and cinnamon until combined. 

Put diced apple in a Ziploc bag and sprinkle with cinnamon. Zip the bag closed, but leave a little hole for ventilation. Microwave for 4 minutes.

Layer half of the yogurt in the bottom of a tall glass. Then half the apple slices, 1 tablespoon granola, 1 tablespoon almonds, and 1 tablespoon dried fruit. Repeat with remaining ingredients.

 

Day 6 Progress Report

Pre-workout snack: Pineapple bits.

Workout: 40 minutes of cardio.

Breakfast: 2 eggs, sweet potato hash sprinkled with cinnamon.

Lunch: Healthy Apple Crisp Yogurt Parfait. 

Snack: Dried fruit and nuts, sunflower seeds.

Dinner: Evol veggie fajita burrito, tomatillo avocado salsa, 1/2 grapefruit.

Snack: Air-popped popcorn with cinnamon and salt.

Drinks: Coffee, water, hemp latte.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 7, 2014 by in Food & Drink, Sugar Freedom, {Project Recipe} and tagged , , , , , , .

Categories

The Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 504 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 504 other followers

